Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Manufactured Spending
Reload this Page >

denied purchase and phone call to amex questions

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 13, 2013, 6:44 am
Original Poster

dh went yesterday to buy 2K VR, SPG amex was denied. I called to see why it was denied and the person I talked to said she was from some financial dept and they were about to call me as they were seeing some transactions for gift cards at a drug store. she went on to ask me a few questions.

1) was I buying gift cards
2) why was I buying gift cards
3) was I trying to get the bonus
4) did I plan to continue this at the same level in the future

I am new to churning and MS and was not sure what to think about this. and had a few questions about my conversation

question 3 should I have answered yes to this?

should I be concerned about future spending on this card. I have now met my minimum spend but wanted to do some MS(only a little) on this card

anything I should now about what I might have done wrong to cause this? or what it might mean to my future churning/ MS?
Old Nov 13, 2013, 7:01 am

1) yes
2) holiday shopping
3) i was going to buy these anyway. I put them on the card to help meet the minimum spend. do you not want my business?
4) can i not? if i'd like to buy relatives gift cards for holidays, are you suggesting I use a different card instead?

turn it back on them to find out if they're asking you questions just to remove future fraud alerts or potentially flagging you for perk abuse/shutdown. BE POLITE THE WHOLE TIME YOU'RE ON THE PHONE.

I would add something like "I'm very sorry if this/these transaction(s) have caused a headache for your department. I'm very busy with my work and family, and I just thought it'd be easiest to knock out some of my birthday and holiday gift shopping while I was at CVS getting some other things this week."
Old Nov 13, 2013, 8:44 am