Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, Brussels, LOT and Other Partners | Miles & More
Reload this Page >

M&M Gold credit card can't be renewed in Italy without being an account holder

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

M&M Gold credit card can't be renewed in Italy without being an account holder

Search this Thread

Old Jan 8, 2022, 6:13 am
Original Poster

Programs: M&M FTL
Unhappy M&M Gold credit card can't be renewed in Italy without being an account holder

Hi,
I have a M&M Gold Mastercard since almost ten years. I recently received a letter informing me that at the end of January my card will not be valid anymore as it doesn't comply to the recent "Strong Customer Authentication" technology.
Upon further questions to the issuing bank (Unicredit in Italy) the answer was something like "Sorry, you can't renew this card. The only solution is that you need to become a bank account holder at our bank and we will issue a new M&M card which will comply with the new technology."

So it seems after many years they just changed their mind and they now want everyone to be an account holder, compared to the previous way in which I had a different bank account and the M&M card was simply "linked" to that.

In addition to that, I recently moved to Belgium and I successfully applied for a M&M American Express since a few months.
I would like to have anyway also a Mastercard as it seems generally more accepted in EU – but the Belgian M&M website is only offering an AMEX linked to BrusselsAirlines.

Having a look at the M&M credit cards on the German M&M website I can see there's plenty of options.
I was wondering, would it be possible for me to:
  1. apply for a German-issued M&M Gold Mastercard
  2. not have the obligation to have an account at some German bank, but to have the card linked to my Belgian bank account
  3. have the card without a German resident address, but instead a Belgian one