Is there Arrival Lounge at Amsterdam airport ?

Old May 23, 2011, 1:41 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: LAX
Posts: 234
Is there Arrival Lounge at Amsterdam airport ?

Any arrival lounge at AMS by either KLM or AF or DL ?

Arriving AMS in Business Class with SkyMile Platinum Elite card

( if not, can one still use Departure Lounge inside the Terminal to freshen up ?)

<AF has a nice arrival lounge at CDG!>
BDQBDQ is offline  
Old May 23, 2011, 1:53 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Silver, HH Diamond, Accor Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 5,328
You may use the KLM Crown Lounge (airside, normal departure lounge) if you are a Business Class pax or ST Elite+ arriving on a KLM/AF/SkyTeam flight arriving on that day.
KOTAR1988 likes this.
KLflyerRalph is offline  
Old May 24, 2011, 1:08 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: LAX
Posts: 234
Thank you for information
BDQBDQ is offline  
Old Aug 27, 2015, 1:29 pm
  #4  
JBD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 522
Originally Posted by KLflyerRalph
You may use the KLM Crown Lounge (airside, normal departure lounge) if you are a Business Class pax or ST Elite+ arriving on a KLM/AF/SkyTeam flight arriving on that day.
Is this still the case?

I'll be flying KLM's direct LAX-AMS in World Business Class.
JBD is offline  
Old Aug 27, 2015, 9:46 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto, Bonaire, St Barths, Lisbon
Programs: Aeroplan Basic!, AAdvantage Platinum, Skymiles Platinum
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by JBD
Is this still the case?

I'll be flying KLM's direct LAX-AMS in World Business Class.
2 weeks ago when arriving from YYZ in WBC I was denied entry and told "this is not an arrival lounge".
YYZMIAZRH is offline  
Old Aug 28, 2015, 5:29 am
  #6  
JBD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 522
Originally Posted by YYZMIAZRH
2 weeks ago when arriving from YYZ in WBC I was denied entry and told "this is not an arrival lounge".
That seems to answer that!

Thanks for your reply.
JBD is offline  
Old Aug 28, 2015, 3:17 pm
  #7  
Moderator: Aegean Miles+Bonus
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AMS / ATH
Programs: AFKL Plat, A3 Gold
Posts: 7,297
I am regularly using the crown lounge as an arrival lounge. Though I enter through Flying Blue status, flying KLM economy..
Xandrios is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2015, 2:57 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 14,352
Originally Posted by Xandrios
I am regularly using the crown lounge as an arrival lounge. Though I enter through Flying Blue status.
Same here. Not quite sure, but I think use on arrival is a PE perk.

Johan
johan rebel is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2015, 3:52 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Silver, HH Diamond, Accor Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 5,328
I've written in December 2013 that the KLM lounges could be used on arrival until 11:00 by WBC PAX who decided to skip breakfast onboard and wanted something to eat in the lounge.
I read that probably in Zakenreis/Luchtvaartnieuws/FlyingDutchman/HollandHerald/? but I can't for the life of me retrieve the article.
KLflyerRalph is offline  
Old Aug 29, 2015, 11:27 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum for Life, AccorLiveLimitless Platinum, Qatar Airways Gold
Posts: 355
Originally Posted by KLflyerRalph
I've written in December 2013 that the KLM lounges could be used on arrival until 11:00 by WBC PAX who decided to skip breakfast onboard and wanted something to eat in the lounge.
I read that probably in Zakenreis/Luchtvaartnieuws/FlyingDutchman/HollandHerald/? but I can't for the life of me retrieve the article.
But things might have changed due to the new security checks. I did use it a few times before they switched to centralised security. But have not tried after, I think it would be a problem to enter if you are coming from a destination that must pass security before entering the departure terminal.
Brendan88 is offline  
Old Aug 30, 2015, 5:21 am
  #11  
Moderator: Aegean Miles+Bonus
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AMS / ATH
Programs: AFKL Plat, A3 Gold
Posts: 7,297
That would indeed be a problem in some cases, though it seems that we are talking about a flight coming in from the U.S., to which this would not apply.
Xandrios is offline  
Old Aug 30, 2015, 5:59 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: Delta Silver, HH Diamond, Accor Gold, IHG Platinum
Posts: 5,328
Air France has recently removed the conditions on their website for entry on arrival at the AMS Crown Lounge (STE+ arriving on a Skyteam flight) so perhaps they are trying to limit the number of users. Or by making it an unpublished benefit, they give the lounge agents the discretion to grant or refuse access whenever they feel like it.
KLBGO likes this.
KLflyerRalph is offline  
Old Mar 7, 2017, 12:42 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Programs: Top Tier with all 3 alliances
Posts: 11,466
Any updates on this? I am STE+ arriving from a US KLM flight in economy, can I use it as an arrival lounge?
nk15 is offline  
Old Mar 7, 2017, 9:35 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK/FR
Programs: FlyingBlue Platinum, Hertz PC
Posts: 886
Originally Posted by nk15
Any updates on this? I am STE+ arriving from a US KLM flight in economy, can I use it as an arrival lounge?
I think you do but it may have changed. You can give it a try no matter what
Mirk is offline  
Old Mar 7, 2017, 12:28 pm
  #15  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum, JetBlue Mosaic, Hyatt Globalist, Alaska MVP Gold.
Posts: 1,960
And please report here if you find out!
caliform is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.