Community
Wiki Posts
Search

ADVICE: best airline to get elite status

Search this Thread

Old Jul 28, 2013, 5:33 pm
Original Poster

I'm relatively new to the frequent flier game, but I was hoping to get some advice. Over the next two years, I'm going to be flying 70k-100k miles per year for school (including 10-15 round trips between New York and London, a couple within Europe, and a couple from NYC to domestic US cities). I've never flown enough to make any tier of frequent flier, so I was hoping to get some advice on which one I should fly exclusively. Which airline has the best benefits for a someone like me who will most likely buy mainly discount economy tickets every time? Main choices are Virgin Atlantic, American, British, United. Any thoughts on complimentary upgrades / best company for mile redemptions? Also, I'm not opposed to signing up for credit cards for additional points. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Last edited by somegirl; Jul 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm
Old Jul 28, 2013, 5:41 pm

Programs: UA 1K, AC SE, WJ Gold

Complimentary upgrades just won't happen ... Unless it is an op-up (operational upgrade). If price is your biggest issue, look at how you can get the best price and go with thy carrier. If ease of gaining status is your goal, fly Star carriers and collect to A3 and you'll be gold in 19,000 miles - then do a status challenge to Delta or AA and get gold there. If redemptions are most important, AA and United are probably best under the current rules. If you don't mind a layover in YYZ consider AC as a carrier an potentially even Aeroplan as you can get gold at 35k (assuming you buy a Flex fare or higher) ... AC has a decent overseas product and will often offer decent fares for American customers willing to connect.

Otherwise, if price is your driver, you may not get a lot of highly discounted fares that will count toward status on many of the carriers.

Just some thoughts.
Old Jul 28, 2013, 5:55 pm