Wiki Posts
Search

Mumbai Oberoi Hotel Reopens

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20, 2010, 9:39 pm
Original Poster

Programs: JGC Premier, One World Emerald
Mumbai Oberoi Hotel Reopens

The NY Times reports that the Mumbai Oberoi Hotel will reopen on Wednesday following a $45 million reconstruction after being attacked by terrorists in November 2008.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/21/bu...tml?ref=global
Old Apr 21, 2010, 4:57 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
this is a great property....i used to stay here all the time before the attack....
Old Apr 21, 2010, 5:27 am

Programs: BA GfL
The best news is that the company has apparently taken the opportunity to fully re-fit all of the rooms--there's a nice picture of one in the Times article. I have been staying at this hotel for many years, but in the last 5-6 years the rooms and furnishings were starting to show their age, particularly in contrast to newer properties uptown like the Grand Hyatt, FS, etc. I'll be happy to stay at the Oberoi now during my "downtown" periods in Mumbai.

I'm hoping the Taj (which was a much worse offender as far as tired, shabby rooms) is doing the same thing. I went through the Taj lobby last month to visit the corporate offices, but didn't stay at the hotel. There seems to be a good amount of work going on.
Old Apr 24, 2010, 10:41 pm

Does it bother people that the terrorists targeted it and deliberately went after foreigners? I'd kinda want to get into less high profile lodgings myself. Thing is, I don't trust either the Mumbai police, the Maharashtara home minister, or the Indian Army. They all failed embarrasingly, I thought.
Old Apr 25, 2010, 5:58 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Originally Posted by LuvAirFrance