Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hyatt | World of Hyatt
Reload this Page >

World of Hyatt’s new “Pay My Way” feature

World of Hyatt’s new “Pay My Way” feature

Old Feb 6, 20, 2:46 am
  #1  
formerly a193991
Original Poster
Hyatt 5+ BadgeHilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Switzerland
Programs: Hyatt LGLO
Posts: 2,433
World of Hyatt’s new “Pay My Way” feature

thought this is worth an own thread. anybody part of the user group? I am not, at least do not see any change in the booking process. would be intererested to hear experiences.


https://onemileatatime.com/hyatt-pay-my-way/

Starting today, Hyatt is launching a “Pay My Way” booking pilot for all Hyatt properties. This is initially only available to a small audience of World of Hyatt members.

The plan is to test and refine this over the next several weeks, and then to roll it out on hyatt.com by the end of the month, and on the World of Hyatt app a few weeks after that.
This new “Pay My Way” feature allows World of Hyatt members to book their stays using multiple payment types in a single transaction.

In other words, in the past if you wanted to book a two night stay and pay for points with one night and cash the other night, you’d have to make two separate reservations.

This new feature allows members to book multiple rate types under a single reservation. Currently members would have to book by phone in order to be able to do this.

With the Pay My Way feature:
  • Members can book a combination of cash, points, free night awards, or Points + Cash rates, on a single booking
  • This will initially focus on rate plans without restrictions, including the World of Hyatt member rate, standard rate, and other flexible rate plans; other rate plans (like advance purchase rates) may be added at a later point
strickerj likes this.

Last edited by 59Impala; Feb 6, 20 at 8:53 pm
59Impala is offline  
Old Feb 6, 20, 3:18 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SFO, ORD, IAD
Programs: UA Plat, AA Plat, LH SEN, Hyatt Glob, Marriott Plat
Posts: 275
I’m a bit confused about the suite upgrade part. I’ve historically been able to apply a single upgrade to multiple, consecutive reservations (as long as the total combined stay is 7 days or less) by calling in or emailing my concierge. In fact, I have one such instance coming up later this month, where a single upgrade is spanning 3 separate, but consecutive, reservations.

Is the ability to do this going away with this new system? If so, that would be a major bummer.
blahmeh14 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 20, 3:46 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seat 2A
Programs: AA EXP LT GLD 1MM, BA GLD, NH/UA*G, Hyatt Dia, Marr Tit LT PLT, IHG Spire,HH Dia, MGM NOIR,Hertz PC
Posts: 10,468
Without a graphic to see what it looks like... no, I don't think I have it on my account right now.
skywalkerLAX is offline  
Old Feb 6, 20, 4:24 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Barcelona, London, on a plane
Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,173
Originally Posted by blahmeh14 View Post
I’m a bit confused about the suite upgrade part. I’ve historically been able to apply a single upgrade to multiple, consecutive reservations (as long as the total combined stay is 7 days or less) by calling in or emailing my concierge. In fact, I have one such instance coming up later this month, where a single upgrade is spanning 3 separate, but consecutive, reservations.

Is the ability to do this going away with this new system? If so, that would be a major bummer.
I believe that this capability has always been there, but it required your Concierge to merge the separate reservations into one. This beta test looks like an attempt to roll out an existing capability so that members can do it themselves.

AFAIK, you still can't use TSUs on certificate nights, so the most obvious use of this capability - combining certificates to get around minimum stay requirements - still wouldn't allow the use of just one TSU.
writerguyfl likes this.
craigthemif is offline  
Old Feb 7, 20, 11:37 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: BOS
Programs: Bonvoy Gold, IHG Platinum, WoH Explorist
Posts: 200
Article up on TPG which shows how this feature will work: https://thepointsguy.com/news/hyatt-pay-my-way/
cvseuy is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 10:48 am
  #6  
formerly a193991
Original Poster
Hyatt 5+ BadgeHilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Switzerland
Programs: Hyatt LGLO
Posts: 2,433
Not sure, if I am now part of the User Group, or if it has been rolled out to all...

Was checking The Confidante, and I got a pop up message. I have this option, but currently only for "standard rates" and only for the base rooms.
Attached Images   
59Impala is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 11:08 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2,138
That's actually pretty cool, I think it may be complicated to implement but definitely nice to have payment options.
ZBigFam is online now  
Old Feb 15, 20, 11:33 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by 59Impala View Post
Not sure, if I am now part of the User Group, or if it has been rolled out to all...

Was checking The Confidante, and I got a pop up message. I have this option, but currently only for "standard rates" and only for the base rooms.

I was here thinking I’m crazy that the taxes added up to over 25% over the overall cost for 2.5 nights. Then I checked and there’s the $35 resort fee. I’m surprised with over 200k points you don’t have Glob status.
Matt4200 is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 1:07 pm
  #9  
skj
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: IAH
Programs: UA 2MM, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Gold
Posts: 1,388
Originally Posted by Matt4200 View Post
I was here thinking I’m crazy that the taxes added up to over 25% over the overall cost for 2.5 nights. Then I checked and there’s the $35 resort fee. I’m surprised with over 200k points you don’t have Glob status.
59Impala is a LTG. The resort fee always shows up when making a cash or P+C reservation regardless of status.
59Impala likes this.
skj is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 2:32 pm
  #10  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: Delta Diamond/ Hyatt top tier(lifetime)
Posts: 623
Seeing this as well. Still better to book and have concierge combine based off of discounts ect.
Hydro88 likes this.
footastic is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 3:01 pm
  #11  
formerly a193991
Original Poster
Hyatt 5+ BadgeHilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Switzerland
Programs: Hyatt LGLO
Posts: 2,433
Originally Posted by Matt4200 View Post
I’m surprised with over 200k points you don’t have Glob status.
Off topic... I am Lifetime Globalist. But what connection do you make between my available points and status? Don’t understand that. I tend to quickly use my points before any devaluation occurs..
ZBigFam likes this.
59Impala is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 3:58 pm
  #12  
Hyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SFO
Programs: Delta Diamond/ Hyatt top tier(lifetime)
Posts: 623
Earn and burn. More than 200-300k points is a liability for future devaluations. 2.125+ cent per point is always a good redemption. Having points for a few night in the program is ideal.


Originally Posted by 59Impala View Post
Off topic... I am Lifetime Globalist. But what connection do you make between my available points and status? Don’t understand that. I tend to quickly use my points before any devaluation occurs..
footastic is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 9:40 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,905
Originally Posted by 59Impala View Post
Off topic... I am Lifetime Globalist. But what connection do you make between my available points and status? Don’t understand that. I tend to quickly use my points before any devaluation occurs..
Having 200k+ points just would (in most cases) mean you’re a Globalist, which would mean waived resort fees. Just my observation.

I could be completely wrong and you could’ve transferred 200k points from Chase through a Sapphire or Ink Card, but that wouldn’t be prudent as it’d be better to hold them as UR until you need to transfer for a booking in case one travel partner devalues heavily or increases in value.

On a side note -

Does The Confidante not waive resort fees for Globs?? I’m a Glob as well and when I get to checkout it shows the resort fees being charged.

Matt4200 is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 11:11 pm
  #14  
formerly a193991
Original Poster
Hyatt 5+ BadgeHilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Switzerland
Programs: Hyatt LGLO
Posts: 2,433
All hotels waive resort fees on eligible rates. also The Confidante

Originally Posted by Matt4200 View Post

On a side note -

Does The Confidante not waive resort fees for Globs?? I’m a Glob as well and when I get to checkout it shows the resort fees being charged.
59Impala is offline  
Old Feb 15, 20, 11:14 pm
  #15  
formerly a193991
Original Poster
Hyatt 5+ BadgeHilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Switzerland
Programs: Hyatt LGLO
Posts: 2,433
Originally Posted by Matt4200 View Post
Having 200k+ points just would (in most cases) mean you’re a Globalist, which would mean waived resort fees. Just my observation.

I could be completely wrong and you could’ve transferred 200k points from Chase through a Sapphire or Ink Card, but that wouldn’t be prudent as it’d be better to hold them as UR until you need to transfer for a booking in case one travel partner devalues heavily or increases in value.
I am still confused what you are trying to explain. I only get points on stays, do not have a Hyatt Credit Card (not in the US), never buy any points, do not transfer any points... but still do not see what connection you are making between my LTG status and available points? 200k points (I had 400k 6 months ago) is no indication at all regarding status, as points don't expire if you stay the minimum (I think 1x/year but may be wrong, anyway not relevant in my case), so could be accumulated over 20 years?
59Impala is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: