Search

Reaching late night w/family - options

Search this Thread

Old May 14, 2018, 10:34 am
Original Poster

Reaching late night w/family - options

Hi,

Flyertalk noob here.

I am visiting my home country for a month with my wife and 5 yo son. On-route from Canada, we are planning to detour via HKG and SIN for 4 days each.

We’ll have 2 check-in baggage (20kb/45lb) and 2 cabin baggage (7kg/15lb). The current flight I am seeing takes me to HKG at 10:30 PM. Others flights are expensive.

How much time does it take me to get from the gate to outside? I have to go through immigration, etc. and collect the luggage so I am guessing, it would be 1.5-2 hours when we are outside the airport. I haven’t booked hotel, but I am thinking somewhere in Kowloon.

We are planning Disneyland 1 day/360 Ngong 1 day/ Kowloon & HK Island – 1.5 days.

What are my options to get to the hotel at that hour (say midnight) -

1) Wait at HKG lounge overnight, try to get some sleep and then take the airport express in the morning. I have Priority Pass lounge passes that I can make use of.
o Is there a limit on time? Are there comfortable couches to get sleep? I would have done 25 hour journey at this time.
o In the morning, check in luggage at the hotel and go for light sightseeing (I understand we’ll be tired that day)
o Here, I will save money on 1 hotel night (that’s not my purpose, but its just happening in this option)

2) Try to make it to Airport Express to Kowloon and then take taxi from Kowloon. Last train is at 00:48. Do I have enough time to catch it in time?
o Is it easy for us to carry the luggage and lil one through the Airport Express? I am used to crowds/transit and have general agility.
o Taxis at Kowloon: Is it safe at that hour and available easily?

3) If I happen to miss the Airport Express, then take the N11, get down somewhere in Kowloon - 80 (N11) + 40(taxi) = 120 HK$
o If N11 takes to the hotel, well and good. If not, take taxi to hotel. Are they easily available?