Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hilton | Hilton Honors
Reload this Page >

Hilton Blackpool (UK) {GBR} (no longer Hilton)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 3, 2008, 1:07 am
Suspended
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott - P; HH - G; Hyatt - P; Avis - LT First

Heading to the UK and have the choice of staying at the Blackpool Hilton or Marriott Preston for 7-nights (about 14-miles apart). I’ll be driving and have gold status in both HH and MR if that makes a difference.

Anyway, since this is my first time to this part of the UK anyone been to either and have comments for choice.
Old Nov 3, 2008, 2:56 am
Hilton Contributor Badge

Programs: AA, BA, Accor, Honors Diamond, IHG Diamond Elite and lots more....
Not stayed at the Blackpool Hilton, but UK Hilton's are generaly very poor (am sure there are some good ones though - but having stayed in several I have yet to find one that I would consider returning to) - so if I had the choice I would probably go for the Marriott.
Old Nov 3, 2008, 10:28 am

Programs: HH Diamond, IHG Spire, Marriott Titanium, BA Silver, FB Explorer
Marriott is better but not walkable to many places. Hilton Blackpool is fairly central in Blackpool but depends really on which place you'd rather stay in rather than which hotel.
Old Nov 3, 2008, 2:01 pm
Original Member

Stayed in both several times. Both similar standard with indoor pool, gym, single restaurant, and OKish rooms. Nothing much to upgrade to at either, and if staying for 7 nights, in my experience you rarely get upgraded anyway. Free parking at both.

Blackpool Hilton has much more to walk out to and do in the local area, especially if you like 'tat shops' and bars. Tends to have more people on holiday staying here, especially 'blue rinse'.