Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Hilton | Hilton Honors
Reload this Page >

Which London hotels do not require a password for wifi?

Which London hotels do not require a password for wifi?

Old Aug 22, 20, 12:21 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DAC
Programs: Mucci du Miel d'Or
Posts: 2,153
Which London hotels do not require a password for wifi?

I'm trying to identify which London hotels do not require a password for wifi. Most require a name and room number or honors code. This works fine for my personal laptop, but not my work laptop and I'm planning to work for a week. I recall a few don't. Doubletree Riverside, perhaps?

I think my alternatives are working off a mobile hotspot from my phone and can get a UK sim to do this. I know this not a tech forum, but if people have other ideas, I'd be v grateful. Thanks.
Dan72 is online now  
Old Aug 22, 20, 8:18 am
  #2  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Programs: AS MVP Gold, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 2,616
Why doesn't it work for your work laptop?
missamo80 is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 9:07 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DAC
Programs: Mucci du Miel d'Or
Posts: 2,153
Originally Posted by missamo80 View Post
Why doesn't it work for your work laptop?
The work laptop has additional security that's not compatible with what I understand are called 'challenge screens', ie where you enter details or a code.

Radisson Edwardian hotels in London offer registration free wifi, which works fine and I might book there. But I recall staying at one or two London Hiltons before and where I noticed there was no password and thought that that could come in handy. But now can't remember, which ones...
Dan72 is online now  
Old Aug 22, 20, 11:11 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SNA
Programs: Bonvoy Tit Forever, AmEx Plat, National EE, WN CP, CLEAR
Posts: 4,166
Also consider buying one of those cheap portable routers (I like the GL-iNet devices, have several- take a look at the "Travel Technology" forum, too). That way you have the router associate to the hotel's WiFi, then on your personal device (laptop, phone, iPad) you connect to your router, then you bring up the webpage on the personal device then authenticate to the hotel. Because the hotel thinks the router has associated OK, any devices you have connected to the router (work laptop, streaming stick, other devices) are also authenticated automatically.

Devices run like $30 and if you get a battery-operated one it'll work on airplanes too.
hhdl, golfmad, Dan72 and 1 others like this.
kennycrudup is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 11:52 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 22
Originally Posted by Dan72 View Post
...I know this not a tech forum, but if people have other ideas, I'd be v grateful. Thanks.
You could use your personal laptop and spoof / change it’s MAC address to match your work laptops (note down your original MAC address first). You can then connect to the internet in the hotel to pass the captive portal / log in screen. Once you’ve passed this you can change your personal laptops MAC address back to its original. Your work laptop should be able to connect after this.

https://www.groovypost.com/howto/cha...indows-10-why/


*Edit* Easier route might be to to ask the hotel to white list your work laptops MAC address. I’m sure they have a network admin or engineer somewhere.
:D! and Dan72 like this.

Last edited by Leonvomp; Aug 22, 20 at 12:14 pm
Leonvomp is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 2:30 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central FL
Programs: DL Plat; Bonvoy Gold; HHonors Gold; Avis Preferred, Hertz PC
Posts: 529
How about asking your work IT department for a work around? Surely they understand that sometimes people need to use a hotel wifi to do work.
jalves is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 2:55 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 273
Originally Posted by jalves View Post
How about asking your work IT department for a work around? Surely they understand that sometimes people need to use a hotel wifi to do work.
Given that most networks with captive portals are unencrypted (if they're WPA2, for instance, it's easy to link standard WiFi auth to the property management system), the intention may be to prevent hotel/coffee shop WiFi from being used.
:D! and MSPeconomist like this.
hhdl is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 7:09 pm
  #8  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 9,769
OP, even some of the hotels that don't require a username and password for WiFi still present a challenge screen for you to press CONNECT.

Originally Posted by kennycrudup View Post
Also consider buying one of those cheap portable routers (I like the GL-iNet devices, have several- take a look at the "Travel Technology" forum, too). That way you have the router associate to the hotel's WiFi, then on your personal device (laptop, phone, iPad) you connect to your router, then you bring up the webpage on the personal device then authenticate to the hotel. Because the hotel thinks the router has associated OK, any devices you have connected to the router (work laptop, streaming stick, other devices) are also authenticated automatically.

Devices run like $30 and if you get a battery-operated one it'll work on airplanes too.
The above is excellent advice. I have one of these and use it extensively for connecting to hotel and inflight WiFi in order to share the connection with multiple devices.

If you don't want to get one of these you can achieve the same thing with an Android device. Connect it to the WiFi and then share the WiFi with your laptop.
Dan72 likes this.
golfmad is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 8:03 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 582
Let me give you an advice.

1. login to the WiFi (which requires a challenge)
2. Open command line (CMD in windows and Terminal in Mac)
3. Type ‘ipconfig’ on windows or ifconfig on mac
4. copy the IP of the default gateway (e.g: 10.0.0.1)
5. open a browser and go to https://10.0.0.1
6. You will be presented with a challenge that most likely will not get blocked by your corporate police.
justsawaufo is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 8:54 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Minneapolis
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, IHG Spire Amb., Marriott Platinum, National EE
Posts: 265
Originally Posted by justsawaufo View Post
Let me give you an advice.

1. login to the WiFi (which requires a challenge)
2. Open command line (CMD in windows and Terminal in Mac)
3. Type ‘ipconfig’ on windows or ifconfig on mac
4. copy the IP of the default gateway (e.g: 10.0.0.1)
5. open a browser and go to https://10.0.0.1
6. You will be presented with a challenge that most likely will not get blocked by your corporate police.
This is what I have to do with my work laptop.
Dan72 likes this.
rdh0924 is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 9:54 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ZOA, SFO, HKG
Programs: UA 1K 0.9MM, Marriott Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz PC, SBux Gold, TSA Pre✓
Posts: 12,159
Don't forget wired connections may be available as well, which does not require login usually.
Dan72 likes this.
garykung is offline  
Old Aug 22, 20, 10:09 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: DAC
Programs: Mucci du Miel d'Or
Posts: 2,153
Thanks all for the really great advice above. I suspected there may be some other ways, but tech is not my strength...

Originally Posted by jalves View Post
How about asking your work IT department for a work around? Surely they understand that sometimes people need to use a hotel wifi to do work.
Yes, I have about a work around. They suggested creating a hotspot from my work phone. But for a week, I thought that might be excessive. and clunky

Originally Posted by hhdl View Post
the intention may be to prevent hotel/coffee shop WiFi from being used.
Exactly.
jalves likes this.
Dan72 is online now  
Old Aug 23, 20, 2:42 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canary Wharf, London
Programs: MyWaitrose, IC Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond & BAEC Gold
Posts: 2,466
My usual advice is to use a site that never uses SSL and it usually will then redirect you to the login page.
http://neverssl.com
chistery is offline  
Old Aug 23, 20, 8:03 am
  #14  
:D!
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sheen, London
Programs: BA Spire, Hilton *G, A3 Diamond, IHG Silver
Posts: 4,842
Originally Posted by chistery View Post
My usual advice is to use a site that never uses SSL and it usually will then redirect you to the login page.
NeverSSL - Connecting ...
http://x.com/ works just as well, but I think the issue is that the work laptop doesn't allow the browser to access non-SSL pages
:D! is offline  
Old Aug 23, 20, 11:22 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: All around the world
Programs: Hilton, Marriott
Posts: 527
I stayed at the Doubletree Greenwich a few days ago and the wifi didn’t have a challenge screen (no password either).
valdor is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: