Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Germany
Reload this Page >

EV rentals in Germany -- What apps / charging networks?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 25, 2024, 12:38 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold 1MM, AS 75k, AA ExPlat, Bonvoyed Gold, Honors Dia, Hyatt Explorer, IHG Plat, ...

I am looking at booking rental cars for an upcoming trip. I am seeing more and more EVs offered. I am an EV driver in the US, so I am generally familiar and comfortable with charging my vehicle at various DC and L2 chargers, and I have NFC cards and apps for the various charging networks I am likely to come across in the US.

When driving in Germany, I have seen chargers at Autobahn rest areas and city parking areas, but I haven't really paid much attention to the brands. If I rented a Tesla, I know I could likely just rely on the Supercharger network in most areas. But what other networks should I get apps (or NFC cards?) for? Do chargers accept US credit cards? Do the apps accept US credit cards? Any other advice?
Old Feb 26, 2024, 4:31 am

Programs: IHG Diamond Ambassador, Accor Plat, M&M FTL, BA Blue, QR Gold
Originally Posted by notquiteaff
I am looking at booking rental cars for an upcoming trip. I am seeing more and more EVs offered. I am an EV driver in the US, so I am generally familiar and comfortable with charging my vehicle at various DC and L2 chargers, and I have NFC cards and apps for the various charging networks I am likely to come across in the US.

When driving in Germany, I have seen chargers at Autobahn rest areas and city parking areas, but I haven't really paid much attention to the brands. If I rented a Tesla, I know I could likely just rely on the Supercharger network in most areas. But what other networks should I get apps (or NFC cards?) for? Do chargers accept US credit cards? Do the apps accept US credit cards? Any other advice?