Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need help with planning 5-day Paris trip with kids

Search this Thread

Old Aug 13, 2023 | 12:17 pm
Original Poster

Need help with planning 5-day Paris trip with kids

Beginner here. Going to Paris for first time and want to hit major tourist spots. We are a family of 4 with 2 adults and 1 teen (13) and 7 yr old. But we are also traveling with 2 other families (4 each in family) (all together, 12 people from 3 families).
Going from IAD on Oct 11 and coming back on Oct 17. Arriving on Oct 12th morning at CDG and flying back on 17th morning from CDG. So we have 5 full days. Can you please help us plan a reasonable schedule and suggest where to stay and travel around.

Apologize for the long list of questions, but need help for these please:

1. How to reach the hotel from the airport? Is there a metro or take taxi?
looks like RER rail is the option or even uber is not a bad idea as we have to take metro tickets for 4 of us anyway.
2. We have points with Marriott and chase/AmEx points as well that can be transferred. Any hotel suggestions that is close to metro and redeemable with Marriott or Hyatt points? or even cash that is reasonably good. Since we are going for first time, though we don't end up staying much at the hotel, would like it to be a decent hotel.
3. Do we need a separate room for kids? or all 4 people from one family allowed in one room? Any suggestions for hotels that allow all four in one room (especially with award points or ecen cash)
4. Book tickets in advance to Eifel tower/ louvre, right? anything else?
5. Considering we have only two museums in our list, should we get a museum pass?
6. Should we get a daily or a 1-week metro pass?
7. We plan to do the following, not in specific order though (suggestions welcome to change/add/remove)

Day 1

Hop on Hop Off bus Just to get a idea of places to visit
Eiffel Tower Book tickets in advance
Seine River Cruise
Catacombs
Tour Montparnasse
Day 2