Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Please help me plan a trip to Santorini/Mykonos from NY/NJ

Search this Thread

Old Jan 6, 2018, 1:08 am
Original Poster

Please help me plan a trip to Santorini/Mykonos from NY/NJ

I am a total newbie so, I apologize in advance for any inconvenience . I am hoping to get some input .My plan is to travel to Europe(London) first so, that I can reduce cost . I have a platinum Amex with 70k points would it be wiser to transfer this points to an Airline or a hotel chain ?This trip is for 2 leaving either from NY/NJ depending on the cost to London staying for a day or two and experience London then Mykonos/Santorini and back to NY/NJ. I also have 4x 100 AA gift cards.Any itineraries would help or even advise if this is ideal and what are my best options since I have to travel in July which is the highest season for sky rocketing prices.
Old Jan 6, 2018, 1:22 am
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K
Welcome to FT, Nancy Porras! This is a vibrant community with many resources to help travellers.

First a few housekeeping items, you've posted this request three times, which is against FT policy. I've gone ahead to alert a moderator to this.

Second, you really don't have enough miles for this trip. Depending on which Amex partner you transfer your points to, you'll need as much or more than you currently have for a single economy ticket to Europe (I'm not even sure you'll get to Greece at all this way, which is usually in a higher Europe category). Flying through London will incur significant additional fees for part of the journey, though there are many cheap budget airline offers from London to Greece. I suggest you buy tickets for cash and continue collecting points until you have enough for a proper trip.

It is generally not wise to transfer to hotel programmes for stays in Greece, as I expect the places you want to go won't have many such options.

Others may be better placed to offer on the ground advice for Greece.
Old Jan 6, 2018, 7:55 am