Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Emirates | Skywards
Reload this Page >

Trying to book upgradeable MAN-DXB-BNE

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 1, 2012, 9:38 pm
Original Poster

Programs: VA- Platinum

Hi,
I'm pretty new at this so please bear with me but I'm trying to book 2 x flex Y class (econ?) on the above route at the end of June (28th is best date) and then use Skywards miles to upgrade to J.

Expertflyer shows little/no availability in J on that date for window/aisle for EK434 and EK432 but several blocked seats.

- Does anyone know if the blocked seats are likely to be released a reasonable time before departure?

- Any hints on roughly when reward seats are generally made available?

- EK432 transits through SIN, do passengers need to disembark?

- Should I be trying to do J in A380 (which I've done previously and was great) or is the 777-300ER comparable?

Thanks for any help guys, seems pretty complex to a newbie! ^
Old May 2, 2012, 3:03 am
Moderator, Trip Reports

Programs: UA GS-2MM, Marriott Ambassador
Originally Posted by freebo
Hi,
I'm pretty new at this so please bear with me but I'm trying to book 2 x flex Y class (econ?) on the above route at the end of June (28th is best date) and then use Skywards miles to upgrade to J.

Expertflyer shows little/no availability in J on that date for window/aisle for EK434 and EK432 but several blocked seats.

- Does anyone know if the blocked seats are likely to be released a reasonable time before departure?

- Any hints on roughly when reward seats are generally made available?

- EK432 transits through SIN, do passengers need to disembark?

- Should I be trying to do J in A380 (which I've done previously and was great) or is the 777-300ER comparable?

Thanks for any help guys, seems pretty complex to a newbie! ^
Seats should be released closer to the date, but it will all depend on EK's Inventory Management system. It has a mind of its own.