Transporting an iMac on EK

Old Mar 21, 12, 6:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Programs: BA Silver, EK Gold, LH Silver, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 287
Transporting an iMac on EK

I want to move an Apple iMac 21" from DXB to LHR and am booked on the A380 in a couple of weeks.
What's the best and safest way to do this?
I have the original Apple box with the internal packing bits. I think I could carry it on-board if I bought a suitable holdall type bag and unboxed it or I could check it in and get it plastic wrapped at DXB.

What do you think?
Purdey is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 6:48 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Exile
Posts: 14,878
Your issue with carrying it on will be more in line with the 7kg weight restriction for cabin baggage. How much does the piece weigh?
B747-437B is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 7:42 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Programs: BA Silver, EK Gold, LH Silver, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 287
Well, I don't know exactly but its more than 7 kgs, probable double that, but I've never had any trouble with the airline weighing cabin baggage.
I think checking it in, boxed and plastic wrapped, makes sense but I dunno how likely it is to emerge unscathed at LHR. Do they have a 'fragile' baggage option or where do they stow strollers/pushchairs?
Purdey is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 8:27 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: 10/28
Programs: EK, BA, TK
Posts: 647
Apple specify the weight of the latest 21.5" model at 8.8kg. I am not sure if this includes packaging and accessories.

I have yet to experience over-zealous hand baggage scrutiny at DXB, but reports indicate that it does happen with some regularity. All those cashiers near the check-in desks need to be kept busy somehow.

If placing in checked baggage, I find the greatest risks are due to crushing should your item be loaded first into the hold or container and heavy items with rigid edges thrown on top. I would pack in original box, then pack that in a larger box or suitcase with a few inches of padding/packing in all directions.

Placing the original box inside a bin liner first (to protect from moisture) may seem excessive given that baggage is rarely left outside in the rain. However, after a recent flight where every second passenger was carrying 10 litres of poorly packaged holy water, I would recommend it! My bag escaped, but some others were drenched.
father_ted is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 8:33 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 528
The best thing IMHO would be to put the iMac in a trolley bag (given, it wont be your regular 'cabin bag') but ive seen plenty of people with slightly larger trolley suitcases allowed through.

I have an iMac 27" and a 21" - I know how heavy they are and the original packaging (as good as it is), I doubt Emirates would allow a huge box on the cabin.

I would personally wrap it in bubble wrap and find an appropriate trolley bag.

There are some other solutions (at a price) such as this and this.
S c 0 TT y is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 8:58 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Programs: BA Silver, EK Gold, LH Silver, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 287
Scotty, thanks for that - it's a once only relocation of the iMac so I'm not really up for that sort of outlay.

father ted - good point about the bin liner!

I hesitate to think about it but perhaps I'll call Emirates and see what they suggest
Purdey is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 12:49 pm
  #7  
Zol
Moderator: Emirates Skywards and Qatar Airways Privilege Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 12R/30L
Programs: EK Gold|EY Gold|Bonvoy Ambassador| IHG Plat|HHonors Diamond
Posts: 2,748
Unless it is very securely package and protected I would not check it in. My sister has had many homeware items crushed in transit and EK will claim no responsibility.
Zol is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 12:56 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: On the road in North America....
Programs: UA 1MM, *G, Global Entry
Posts: 579
Have you considered just shipping it DHL or FedEx insured?

joe
FlyingDiver is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 2:32 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Near Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,454
Originally Posted by Purdey View Post
Scotty, thanks for that - it's a once only relocation of the iMac so I'm not really up for that sort of outlay.

father ted - good point about the bin liner!

I hesitate to think about it but perhaps I'll call Emirates and see what they suggest
The only way I would take it - is to carry it onboard. Wrap it in bubble wrap and put it under your arm. Also, and I know I am stating the obvious, back it up completely and make sure its insured...
eightblack is offline  
Old Mar 21, 12, 3:33 pm
  #10  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,688
It should fit into a standard roll-a-board. So, you should just be able to carry it on board. It will over the 7kg limit, but I doubt they'd spot you unless you were struggling.

I think the carry on checks seem to skewed in favour of certain skin tones - if you catch my drift.
DYKWIA is offline  
Old Oct 10, 17, 9:45 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 528
OP

Just wondering how you got on as im thinking of tagging my iMac 27" along to China soon.
S c 0 TT y is offline  
Old Oct 10, 17, 10:29 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Economy, mostly :(
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 7,781
Originally Posted by S c 0 TT y View Post
OP

Just wondering how you got on as im thinking of tagging my iMac 27" along to China soon.
5 years later?

I carried my XBox South Africa to India and back in hand luggage no problem, both in a suitcase one-way and back in a backpack
skywardhunter is online now  
Old Oct 10, 17, 11:34 am
  #13  
Ambassador: Emirates Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 15,688
Originally Posted by DYKWIA View Post
It should fit into a standard roll-a-board. So, you should just be able to carry it on board. It will over the 7kg limit, but I doubt they'd spot you unless you were struggling.
Hmmm..... I think I posted this before I actually owned a 21" iMac. I think I'd struggle to get it into my carryon looking at it
DYKWIA is offline  
Old Oct 10, 17, 3:41 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 528
Originally Posted by skywardhunter View Post
5 years later?

I carried my XBox South Africa to India and back in hand luggage no problem, both in a suitcase one-way and back in a backpack
Thought i'd search the forums as I remember seeing it a few years back

No chance getting the 21" in a suitcase, nevermind the 27"
S c 0 TT y is offline  
Old Oct 10, 17, 4:28 pm
  #15  
Ambassador: Emirates
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney
Programs: EK Gold, IHG Plat, QF SG, HH Gold, KLM FB
Posts: 928
I just carried a case of wine back GLA-DXB-SYD last week and it was fine. Fragile stickers and a priority first tag did the trick. I don't see why a well packaged computer couldn't do the same journey, but i'd maybe put it in a larger box to make it look less...tempting.
sydtogla is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: