A380 Wing cracks

Old Feb 9, 12, 12:28 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottingham, UK
Programs: HHonors - Diamond, AA - EXP
Posts: 144
A380 Wing cracks

Anyone know if EK's fleet will be out of service for these checks? http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-16942361

Am due to fly EK17 DXB-MAN on Saturday and wondered if I was going to end up with an equipment change :-(
robofski is offline  
Old Feb 9, 12, 1:53 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Programs: AZ FA+, A3 G, AB G | IHG RA, HGP D, FPC P, Accor P, BW D, HH D, Eleva, GHA P, 1862 Voyager
Posts: 1,808
According to CNN when I was watching a few hours ago, EK has already completed servicing for 4 A380s (out of 20 in the fleet)

So it seems they are sending them for servicing without major disruptions to normal operations.

That said, I have an upcoming shower planned in 3 weeks and will be very disappointed if the 380 is swapped!
lsed is offline  
Old Feb 9, 12, 2:03 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nottingham, UK
Programs: HHonors - Diamond, AA - EXP
Posts: 144
Originally Posted by lsed View Post
I have an upcoming shower planned in 3 weeks and will be very disappointed if the 380 is swapped!
I'm not lucky enough to get a shower, but I am looking forward to the bar, so I too will be disappointed if it is swapped!

Let's hope they are able to make the checks during normal service intervals.
robofski is offline  
Old Feb 9, 12, 2:36 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Slight disruptions have occurred already:

EK029/030 DXB-LHR was supposed to go from 777-300ER to A380 in January, however it was switched back to 777-300ER just before the A380 was put on the route. The return of this was originally slated to begin March 1st, but yet once again has been delayed until March 30th or 31st (Canít remember which date!).
EK322/323 DXB-ICN was A380 but has been switched to the 777-300ER for the time being to accommodate the checks.

However I'm sure some will be glad to know that Emirates has still kept plans to operate EK005/005 DXB-LHR as an A380 from March 25th, despite the fact that EK029/030 was supposed to become an A380 before this flight!
CaptainEKAirbus is offline  
Old Feb 9, 12, 5:39 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: Skywards
Posts: 464
Article from Dubai newspaper:

http://khaleejtimes.com/biz/inside.a...ction=business
S c 0 TT y is offline  
Old Feb 17, 12, 2:17 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: IND
Posts: 1,891
Originally Posted by CaptainEKAirbus View Post
EK322/323 DXB-ICN was A380 but has been switched to the 777-300ER for the time being to accommodate the checks.
DXB-ICN has been switched to 773ER from Feb 1st and until Mar 31st.
bobbybrown is online now  
Old Feb 19, 12, 4:50 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: SAA, HHonors Gold, Skywards Gold
Posts: 19
EK761 DXB-JNB has been switched to 773ER as well. Its been in service since 1st October 2011. Was due to be on it on a weeks time, (un)fortunately not anymore.
m0-m0 is offline  
Old Feb 19, 12, 11:39 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern California
Programs: Skywards Gold
Posts: 10
A380 became 777-300 Without Notice!!

Originally Posted by robofski View Post
Anyone know if EK's fleet will be out of service for these checks? http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-16942361

Am due to fly EK17 DXB-MAN on Saturday and wondered if I was going to end up with an equipment change :-(
I was booked on a A380 flight from DXB to KUL (EK346 5FEB) and two days before departure equipment started showing up 777-300 and we had an old plane with older version of ICE. My seats from front were changed to somewhere at the back and the staff at airport or the service ctr would not change my flight without $200 charge. The flight was full in Y and J.
MysticSharma is offline  
Old Feb 20, 12, 4:23 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7,342
Originally Posted by MysticSharma View Post
I was booked on a A380 flight from DXB to KUL (EK346 5FEB) and two days before departure equipment started showing up 777-300 and we had an old plane with older version of ICE.
It looks like this is to be an ongoing change, at least while the A380s are being worked on. The route has been operated by a 777 every day since 2/2/12.
ft101 is offline  
Old Feb 20, 12, 4:50 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Programs: AZ FA+, A3 G, AB G | IHG RA, HGP D, FPC P, Accor P, BW D, HH D, Eleva, GHA P, 1862 Voyager
Posts: 1,808
Originally Posted by MysticSharma View Post
I was booked on a A380 flight from DXB to KUL (EK346 5FEB) and two days before departure equipment started showing up 777-300 and we had an old plane with older version of ICE. My seats from front were changed to somewhere at the back and the staff at airport or the service ctr would not change my flight without $200 charge. The flight was full in Y and J.
Originally Posted by ft101 View Post
It looks like this is to be an ongoing change, at least while the A380s are being worked on. The route has been operated by a 777 every day since 2/2/12.


Crap, I'm booked for DXB - KUL on the 380 on second week of March. That's going to be my first shower!

MMB still shows 380 for my flight. How likely will my flight be changed to a 777?
lsed is offline  
Old Feb 20, 12, 5:36 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,079
I think you people are missing the important point here which is safety, and getting this issue sorted out which EK are doing at the moment.

I'm sure most pax would rest easy they're on metal that's 100 percent airworthy, no mater how small the problem might be.

How safe would you feel if your 380 flight hit severe turbulance at 12,000 meters above an ocean with those cracks in the wings ?

It's a simple problem to fix with time consuming work, but it should be all behind us very soon.
NOIR is offline  
Old Feb 20, 12, 7:52 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: SAA, HHonors Gold, Skywards Gold
Posts: 19
Weird, EF still shows the 388 operating on ek761. How accurate is EF usually on these sort of things? even the seat map comes up.
m0-m0 is offline  
Old Feb 21, 12, 9:22 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 530
Originally Posted by m0-m0 View Post
Weird, EF still shows the 388 operating on ek761. How accurate is EF usually on these sort of things? even the seat map comes up.
EK761 is still 388... I don't think it ever changed. Perhaps it did for a short period of time, but for now it is rostered in today and as far as I can see a 388.
CaptainEKAirbus is offline  
Old Feb 21, 12, 5:15 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Programs: SAA, HHonors Gold, Skywards Gold
Posts: 19
From the 1st of March it changes to a 77W. J is now completely full and im allocated the horrid centre seats!
m0-m0 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread