Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Delta SkyMiles (Pre-WorldPerks Merger)
Reload this Page >

Yet another change to the upgrades that I haven't seen discussed ...

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 1, 2000, 7:16 am
Original Member and FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: DL PM/MM, AA ExPlat, Hyatt Glob, HH Dia, National ECE, Hertz PC

Looking at the upgrade summary, another change to the entire upgrade scheme is that GM's will now only receive four segment upgrades upon qualification. This is really a minor change if you ask me, but it all adds up. I've been flying DL for less than four years, and in that time here's the erosion I've seen of my GM benefits (in roughly the order they've happened):

1) Change of Million Miler Qualification to base miles from all miles

2) L fares made non-upgradeable

3) U fares added, making the two lowest fare classes now non-upgradeable

4) Systemwides replaced by this less valuable and harder to earn NAMU's

5) 800 miles upgrades for GM qualification lowered from 8 to 4

In exchange for the loss of all these wonderful benefits I've gotten:

1) The less valuable NAMU's are now valid on a companion.

This is rediculous and you can bet I'm writing DL about this!
Old Aug 1, 2000, 8:39 am
Original Member

Programs: SW A List Preferred, Delta Gold, Marriott Lifetime Titanium
Uh oh! Delta's most loyal fan and defender is unhappy with a change to the program. That can only mean one thing....the change is really bad.

Watch out Delta.....the natives are restless.
Old Aug 1, 2000, 10:21 am

Of course we've all constantly said on this board that we always have plenty of segment points left over at the end of the year...

You couldn't pay for a better focus group than this board.

The natives ARE restless.
Old Aug 1, 2000, 10:46 am
Original Member

Programs: Hyatt Courtesy card. Delta 2MM Diamond. AA platinum pro