Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Standby List Names Got Delta One Seats

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30, 2017, 7:59 pm

Programs: DL PM & NRSA, AA Gold, ANA Plat, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, National EC Exec, GE, CLEAR
Originally Posted by GagaPilot
As an airline pilot myself (former delta connection), the non-rev benefit is something that is great when it works, but an absolute nightmare when it doesn't. Over the last few years I've non-revved domestically and internationally. Domestically 80% of the time I was in Y, 15% in C+, and 5% F. There were however countless times I'd come nowhere close to clearing the standby list. As a DL connection pilot we were below DL mainline employee (both active and retired) so it could be very tricky. Internationally I always cleared to C+, but never made the cut to D1.

I'm still a pilot, but for a non DL affiliated carrier. So my priority is even lower than a DL buddy pass. I don't even attempt it anymore. Too much hassle. I'm back to buying confirmed tickets (Y and the occasional F) to gain status, miles, and overall avoid the headache.

I believe it is correct airline employees should receive these benefits, but I also believe they should drastically limit the benefit to a certain number of segments per year. It's to the point that many airline employees (myself included) can't enjoy this perk of the job because of the dozens and dozens of non revs that list for each flight.
No kidding. I still remember the time I had to do this to get home from MCO...

MCO (no chance of getting on the nonstops) -> ATL -> LAX (got bumped of course and had to sleep on the then cold freezing floors of T5 for the next few hours) -> MSP

or perhaps more fun..

MSP -> IND -> CLH -> ATL -> DAB

Yes, I've legit done four and five stops for what often can be often a nonstop (its also why segment limits aren't likely the best idea unless we can add flights to a given PNR and limit the benefit that way).

It's.. Been something. Thats for sure.