Wiki Posts
Search

New GM Need some help please.

Search this Thread

Old Jun 7, 2017, 8:10 am
Original Poster

New GM Need some help please.

Hi All,

I'm a new GM that is trying to learn the ropes and I will be a PM in a week. I also have the Amex Reserve card. I have some questions I was hoping some pros could answer. This is my first year of heavy travel. I have been lurking a bit doing my best get down the slang

1. Whats the best days to fly for upgrades?

2. Whats the best times?

3. Whats the overall upgrade chance roughly for 1st as PM?

4. Should I disable C+ upgrades? It seems some say this could kill F upgrade.

5. Can I set a preference for no C+ middle seats. I would rather have isle C.

6. Should I always wait to board the plane in case someone does not show? It seems every other flight they fly with 1 F seat open due to D5 (as a GA told me) trying to close the doors early

Thanks so much for your time in helping a GM, soon to be PM out.

Warm Regards,

KN
Old Jun 7, 2017, 8:20 am
In memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DM life is over 2MM PM now & NW MillionAir Wyndham Rewards Plat -Hotels.com Silver -Accor Silver
Welcome to FlyerTalk Delta forum!

You've just managed to sum up tens of thousands of posts into 6 questions!
Old Jun 7, 2017, 8:24 am

Programs: DL DM, HH Gold, SPG Platinum 100, National Executive Elite
In summary for all of DL flyer talk

Originally Posted by icebeam
Hi All,

I'm a new GM that is trying to learn the ropes and I will be a PM in a week. I also have the Amex Reserve card. I have some questions I was hoping some pros could answer. This is my first year of heavy travel. I have been lurking a bit doing my best get down the slang

1. Whats the best days to fly for upgrades? Saturday and Sunday morning

2. Whats the best times? Usually middays during the week, Saturday, and Sunday morning