Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Delta Air Lines | SkyMiles
Reload this Page >

Can I apply my RUC to an itin I'm not on?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old May 1, 2017, 2:32 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Delta PM

Hi All,

Here's my scenario. Me (PM), wife & child (no status) flying JFK-PLS in March. If I read the rules right, it is Medallion (and thus RUC eligible). It is my first time as a platinum, so bear with me! Obv trying to find the cheapest and best way to get us all up front without paying for it.

I was thinking I would use a Delta Plat Card Cert to buy C- tix for self and kid, auto-upgrade to C+, buy c+ for wife, then RUC all three of us and hope for the best? Would that work? Meaning, can I apply a RUC to my wife's ticket even though she isn't on the same PNR?

Thanks. Other ideas welcome (I know, WFBF!)
Old May 1, 2017, 2:40 pm

Programs: DL DM, AS MVP, Hilton Gold, IHG Plat, SPG Gold, TSA PreCheck
I don't believe this is *technically* allowed, but I've managed to do this several times with both RUCs and GUCs (on the receiving end of the GUC) on a separate PNR.
Old May 1, 2017, 2:40 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

The T & C's seem pretty clear on this:

"May be redeemed for the named Medallion Member and up to one travel companion in the same reservation"

http://www.delta.com/content/www/en_...tificates.html
Old May 1, 2017, 2:43 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by LBJ
The T & C's seem pretty clear on this:

"May be redeemed for the named Medallion Member and up to one travel companion in the same reservation"

http://www.delta.com/content/www/en_...tificates.html
Ahh...hmm...so even if I have RUC's I can only upgrade two on the PNR, and one has to be me. That rules out many scenarios.
Old May 1, 2017, 2:44 pm

Programs: AA EXP, DL DM, Marriott Titanium
How are you going to use the companion certificate on JFK-PLS? Cert is for domestic travel only.
Old May 1, 2017, 2:47 pm
TTT