Wiki Posts
Search

Reason for price spike? LAX - TYO

Search this Thread

Old Aug 14, 2015, 3:56 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Delta SM
Reason for price spike? LAX - TYO

Apologies if this has been addressed elsewhere, but I've hunted around and didn't see anything.

I've been eyeing airfare for LAX-HND/NRT for April 2016 (and all dates up until then) for about 5 months now, and for some reason, right after December 6th 2015 the prices literally double within a day and don't drop at all. Dec 6th departure $749 rt, Dec 7th departure $1500+, and the rates don't drop at all after that.

I realize that booking now for April 2016 may result in higher pricing, but I find it odd that, for months now, when I price all other dates up until then, the same enormous price spike happens in early December without any adjustment in the following months.

Is there some change Delta is making that I'm not aware of that's causing this, or am I just worrying over nothing? Thanks so much in advance!
Old Aug 14, 2015, 8:44 pm

Programs: Delta DM; *A FO. UG since(1/1/15): 11/14
Fares may be high but there's plenty of low level award tickets out there for april '16, both coach and J.
Old Aug 14, 2015, 9:35 pm

Programs: UA GS, DL-Plat, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum, Hyatt Somethingist, Marriott Titanium Lifetime
Perhaps the schedule is going to be changed and they don't want flights too heavily booked in case they are switching to smaller aircraft. Or maybe they are trying a pricing experiment. Or perhaps a coding error by RM has not yet been corrected. Or perhaps it is a new plan to hedge against possible long term fuel price surges. There are lots of possibilities.
Old Aug 14, 2015, 9:45 pm

Programs: dl dm, *g
They canned there SEA-HND route, so perhaps this was their goal? Maybe wait it out and see if it gets lower.
Old Aug 17, 2015, 5:24 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Delta SM