Delta App Update, Yea or Nay?

Old Jun 16, 15, 11:42 am
  #1  
was WWads
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: DCA
Programs: DL PM, UA Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 5,801
Delta App Update, Yea or Nay?

Just noticed that an update was released yesterday for the Delta iPhone app.

Has anyone updated yet? Have the seat maps for existing reservations been "enhanced" in a similar manner to the ones online?

I don't want to update if it means losing the one easy way I have of viewing the F/J seat map when sitting in Y.
KDCAflyer is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 11:54 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by WWads View Post
Just noticed that an update was released yesterday for the Delta iPhone app.

Has anyone updated yet? Have the seat maps for existing reservations been "enhanced" in a similar manner to the ones online?

I don't want to update if it means losing the one easy way I have of viewing the F/J seat map when sitting in Y.
I updated. Says you can now use your camera to scan your Passport and credit card.

Seat maps show both economy and First/Business availability when booked in economy.
Auston is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 12:00 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MLB, MCO
Programs: Delta Plat, IHG Plat, Marriott Silver
Posts: 1,307
Originally Posted by Auston View Post
I updated. Says you can now use your camera to scan your Passport and credit card.

Seat maps show both economy and First/Business availability when booked in economy.
So you can do a doc check with your app now for international flights? That would be cool.
realjd is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 12:15 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Orange County, CA (SNA)
Programs: Delta - DM, MM; Hilton - Gold, Marriott - Dropped
Posts: 772
Originally Posted by realjd View Post
So you can do a doc check with your app now for international flights? That would be cool.
Indeed! I am sure someone will report before this but I am coming back from JNB on Friday and will attempt mobile check in...
tanglin is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 12:20 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 90,403
The app that I have only shows coach seats that aren't EC/C+, exit row, or premium now for flights where I'm booked in BE/D1. [It worked fine for me until people started reporting problems with this.] If someone has an app that allows one to see all seats on your flights when clicking from the itinerary, keep that version, treasure it, and guard it against automatic updates.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 12:27 pm
  #6  
was WWads
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: DCA
Programs: DL PM, UA Silver, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 5,801
So I gather it's safe to update then? I do like the new stated features, it's the unstated ones that worry me...
KDCAflyer is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 12:59 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 162
What’s New in Fly Delta 3.4

• We’ve added a passport scanner which can be used during check-in for international travel. Just tap on the camera icon on the passport info page
• We’ve also added a credit card scanner to help with entering your payment information
• In Profile, you can now update your username and password
• Fixed a bug which prevented some customers from seeing the upgrade/standby list in My Trips
• Several other bug fixes
Auston is offline  
Old Jun 16, 15, 1:21 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: DL DM 1MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 12,703
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
The app that I have only shows coach seats that aren't EC/C+, exit row, or premium now for flights where I'm booked in BE/D1. [It worked fine for me until people started reporting problems with this.] If someone has an app that allows one to see all seats on your flights when clicking from the itinerary, keep that version, treasure it, and guard it against automatic updates.
I notice that from the last version also... can only view all the Y seats if I go through the process of trying to do a new booking.
rylan is offline  
Old Jun 29, 15, 6:08 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, Titanium_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 6,301
Originally Posted by Auston View Post
I updated. Says you can now use your camera to scan your Passport and credit card.
Can someone confirm that the app allows one to scan your passport? If so, does "docs ok" then show up on EBPs as well as BPs printed via the web?
Xeno is offline  
Old Jun 30, 15, 11:27 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, Titanium_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 6,301
Was SYD a factor in this failure?

When I did OLCI this morning, I thought the app took a photo of my 'passport'. However, I could not get any EBP (OKC-ATL-LAX-SYD) and the print passes say "verify passport".

So did my iP6 camera fail me when using the app or is this because I going to SYD tomorrow and that requires verification of my visa? If the latter, does that mean I need to show a print out of my e-visa for Australia when I go to the counter to check in luggage?
Xeno is offline  
Old Jun 30, 15, 4:18 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 620
Originally Posted by Xeno View Post
When I did OLCI this morning, I thought the app took a photo of my 'passport'. However, I could not get any EBP (OKC-ATL-LAX-SYD) and the print passes say "verify passport".

So did my iP6 camera fail me when using the app or is this because I going to SYD tomorrow and that requires verification of my visa? If the latter, does that mean I need to show a print out of my e-visa for Australia when I go to the counter to check in luggage?
When I tried it earlier this week the camera did take a picture of my passport and I still had to go to the desk because they had to answer some Visa related questions in the system before I could get the DOCS-OK version. So its actually more work for me, less for the GA, but no faster overall.
ross123 is offline  
Old Jul 1, 15, 1:27 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SEA
Programs: DL DM, DL SkyClub, DL AmEx Plat, SPG +, Hilton Silver, Hertz, Thrifty BlueChip, NEXUS/GE
Posts: 586
Delta App Update, Yea or Nay?

I had an INTL trip since the update. The camera thing is fun and worked perfectly for me (no VISA issues - MEX). The actual BP Screen didn't say "DOCS OK" for me, but the info screen (when it flips around) did say it. GA had no problems and I boarded like normal. So far, seems less glitchy and has some nice features. I'm a fan.

ETA: forgot I had a NRT trip on the 17. I didn't even realize the app updated, but it prompted me to scan the passport with the camera. I was confused at the time, but figured out that the app updated and I didn't realize. 2 trips and no issues on this end. YMMV.
OnTheSlopes is offline  
Old Aug 14, 15, 6:16 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: OKC
Programs: DL DM/2.5MM, Global Entry, Titanium_Marriott, GHertz
Posts: 6,301
Originally Posted by Auston View Post
I updated. Says you can now use your camera to scan your Passport and credit card.
I could not get the app to scan my passport this morning. This worked okay for SYD last month but I think there was an app update since then. Anyway, anyone else have this problem of late?

I was hoping to skip the counter since I do not have luggage to check and do not need a visa for Greece.
Xeno is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: