Search

Short layover at SLC

Search this Thread

Old Mar 26, 2015, 5:02 pm
formerly known as RK7
Original Poster

Programs: Many
Short layover at SLC

I’m quite new to DL this year after having many years at UA as an elite. Have gradually left UA for many of the same exact reasons that people here complain about DL. After one flight the only difference I can see is that the food is much better (and people friendlier) at the SLC lounge than any UA lounge. Have no DL status yet but hope to soon.

Have an upcoming flight (5/10) to AMS booked at DL website a few months ago. My concern is that there is only a 32 minute layover at SLC but it is on a Sunday. Was checking alternatives today for the fun of it and DL website will not produce that routing now in spite of the fact that there are plenty of seats shown on SLC-AMS. I’m not overly concerned as we have some cushion after arrival there and would be glad to pick up some vouchers if we’re rerouted. Am I setting us up for problems?
Old Mar 26, 2015, 5:12 pm

Programs: AS
As long as nothing happens, you should be fine. SLC is a great airport to transfer in since everything is really close.
Old Mar 26, 2015, 5:53 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Originally Posted by RK7
I’m not overly concerned as we have some cushion after arrival there and would be glad to pick up some vouchers if we’re rerouted. Am I setting us up for problems?
Don't expect vouchers unless your in-bound delay is a mechanical.

If your connection doesn't meet MCT it's likely agents will refuse to check a bag.

There's a lengthy SLC Minimum Connect Time thread. The airport is fairly compact and DL has a good on-time record at SLC.
Old Mar 26, 2015, 6:03 pm

Programs: Delta PM, 1MM
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/delta...ve-thread.html
Old Mar 26, 2015, 7:42 pm

Programs: DL PM MM, Marriott Titanium