When does precheck processing occur?

Old Aug 19, 14, 2:06 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: DL PM, AA Lifetime Gold, UA Refugee
Posts: 8
When does precheck processing occur?

A work flight for me was booked through a corporate travel agent that somehow missed my Skymiles number. When I got the "check in now" message from them, I checked in, but noticed that neither Skymiles status nor preCheck was on the boarding pass. I called to undo the check in and add my number to the reservation, and it's showing up now in the reservation. I also added my known traveler number (which is in my profile, but obviously didn't get linked because of problem one).

My question is--am I better off checking in now in the hopes that the preCheck will get processed for an early check in? Or am I better off checking in later, leaving more time for the update to percolate through? I'm not really sure whether they bulk do it at some window (which I have likely missed) or do it as check in occurs. Anyone know?

thanks,

Skippy
SkippyFluff is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 2:20 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NYC
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 3,754
Originally Posted by SkippyFluff View Post
A work flight for me was booked through a corporate travel agent that somehow missed my Skymiles number. When I got the "check in now" message from them, I checked in, but noticed that neither Skymiles status nor preCheck was on the boarding pass. I called to undo the check in and add my number to the reservation, and it's showing up now in the reservation. I also added my known traveler number (which is in my profile, but obviously didn't get linked because of problem one).

My question is--am I better off checking in now in the hopes that the preCheck will get processed for an early check in? Or am I better off checking in later, leaving more time for the update to percolate through? I'm not really sure whether they bulk do it at some window (which I have likely missed) or do it as check in occurs. Anyone know?

thanks,

Skippy
Your problem was the lack of Skymiles number. I have booked tickets on DL.com and immediately checked in and had the Pre-Check notation come thru without any issues....but I'm also 100% on pre-check.
FlyAO2 is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 2:34 pm
  #3  
us2
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Southern California/In the air
Programs: DL
Posts: 10,382
It must be nearly instantaneous as I have literally booked flights on the way to the airport and gotten precheck. Last minute bookings aren't an unusual thing for me and I do have a trusted traveler number, which I think helps matters considerably.
us2 is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 2:38 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 45,199
I have hopped in a cab to DCA, 10 minutes from downtown DC, booked a Shuttle and had pre-check by the time I made it to the checkpoint.
Often1 is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 2:38 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BOS/ORH
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 18,054
After 72 hours before departure, any changes to the secure flight data causes and immediate resending of the data for TSA to review. Many examples of this being instantaneous on FT.

I highly doubt this has anything to so with FF number not being passed through. Corporate travel agent never sent the KTN which is problem.

In the example by FlyAO2, when you log in to your skymiles profile when you book it auto populates KTN and FF number and secure flight data in the reservation.

When you book through a third party, you are relying on them to supply all the data. Its not auto populated based based off your skymiles profile.

The following is an example of the only time person did not get pre, happened to be the day they had no control over the booking process and was relying in airport agent to properly fill in the secure flight data

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/23355005-post10.html

Last edited by CDKing; Aug 19, 14 at 2:45 pm
CDKing is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 3:06 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: BWI, MD
Programs: AA Gold, UA Silver, HH Lifetime Diamond, Marr Lifetime Titanium, Avis Presidents
Posts: 337
If you use Concur, there was a known issue with Southwest where it was sending the KTN into the Redress field. Could it possibly be that its now happening with Delta?

I use Concur and had the issues with WN, but have not had any issues with DL.
ontherun is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 3:12 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: DL Scattered Smothered Covered Medallion, Some hotel & car stuff, Kroger Plus Card
Posts: 10,226
Add me to the list of people with same-day bookings that have gotten Pre. Also when you SDC you are reticketed and it goes through again (but same PNR, so maybe not..).

One time I had a ticket booked weeks in advance. Did OLCI to get my HOOU and no Pre banner, but also the hotel printer was screwed up so no HOOU. Checked in again on my phone - no banner. Went and got dinner, then afterward, repeated check-in on my phone and the new BP had the Pre banner. Decided to try for the HOOU again, so re-did OLCI and got both the Pre banner and my HOOU.

Moral of the story: it appears you can keep repeating OLCI and mobile check-in if your first attempt doesn't give you Precheck - though I wouldn't necessarily recommend doing this on a normal basis, DL IT being what it is.
gooselee is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 3:47 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM(segs)/MM, Hilton DM, Marriott Ti (life Pt), TSA Opt-out Platinum
Posts: 2,574
Pre Check determination is made at time of check-in. It's not made in advance. It's quite similar to how the CAPPS (Customer Assisted Pax Prescreening System) worked. When you push the check-in button, the airline runs a routine that looks at your PNR, a gov't database, and other things (I can't discuss) to see if you meet the criteria for Pre-Check. If not, then you don't get pre-check.

Random statistic on CAPPS: On 9/11 it flagged a majority of the hijackers as selectees, but unfortunately as we all know, that wasn't enough. At the time the system was only designed to handle PPBM (Positive Pax Bag Match).

CAPPS II never made it to fruition, the TSA got more interested in playing with nudie boxes.
HDQDD is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 4:25 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BOS/ORH
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 18,054
Originally Posted by HDQDD View Post
Pre Check determination is made at time of check-in.
So the 72 hour thing TSA is always talking about is another one of their usual lies?
CDKing is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 5:26 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: DL PM, AA Lifetime Gold, UA Refugee
Posts: 8
Apparently just got unlucky

Sounds like this commonly fixes itself, but I happened not to get it this time. I've confirmed that all the data in the record is correct a second time, but check-in still shows Sky Priority but not TSA Pre-Check. I had not mentioned that there was an international leg on this, which but it may be the difference. As it stands, I'll just shift theories to assume I won't get it.

Thanks for the informative replies,

Skippy
SkippyFluff is offline  
Old Aug 19, 14, 6:23 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 87,052
Once I purchased a ticket less than two hours before the flight and did get PreCheck as a DM with GE. This was probably about two years ago.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 21, 14, 2:02 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM(segs)/MM, Hilton DM, Marriott Ti (life Pt), TSA Opt-out Platinum
Posts: 2,574
Originally Posted by CDKing View Post
So the 72 hour thing TSA is always talking about is another one of their usual lies?
I've never heard that, but I can (anecdotally) confirm it's false based on two last minute (within 24hrs) purchases I made where I still got PC.
HDQDD is offline  
Old Aug 21, 14, 3:13 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BOS/ORH
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 18,054
Originally Posted by HDQDD View Post
I've never heard that, but I can (anecdotally) confirm it's false based on two last minute (within 24hrs) purchases I made where I still got PC.
Ive always been under the impression All existing reservations are submitted to the TSA and precheck eligibility verified at 72 hours. All new reservations after 72 hours are submitted for at time of booking. Also any existing reservations that have secure flight data changes between 72 hours and check in are resent to TSA.
CDKing is offline  
Old Aug 21, 14, 3:21 pm
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 87,052
I thought it was impossible to change any secure flight data within 72 hours.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Aug 21, 14, 3:29 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL DM(segs)/MM, Hilton DM, Marriott Ti (life Pt), TSA Opt-out Platinum
Posts: 2,574
Originally Posted by CDKing View Post
Ive always been under the impression All existing reservations are submitted to the TSA and precheck eligibility verified at 72 hours. All new reservations after 72 hours are submitted for at time of booking. Also any existing reservations that have secure flight data changes between 72 hours and check in are resent to TSA.
That may be true, but the Pre-Check decision criteria is applied at check in. There's also a random component to those who are (otherwise) eligible. For OPSEC reasons, it would be a really bad idea to do this in advance.
HDQDD is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: