Cuba for a newbie

Old Feb 5, 16, 12:25 pm
Original Poster

Cuba for a newbie

I'm just beginning to research travel to Cuba. Hopefully, someone can give me advice.

I am a US citizen located in the NYC area and will be traveling alone. I'm not entirely clear about the visa process and whether I'm better off flying to Cuba from another country, assuming it's legal. Or should I go through an agency to get a visa? If so, please recommend an agency.

I'm a 60+ guy who likes adventure, beach and wants to see Cuba before it gets too commercialized, my main motivation for wanting to go. I'm not one for pre-planned tours but would like to plan a basic itinerary for 10 days.

Thanks for any thoughts.
Old Feb 5, 16, 5:04 pm

Programs: Aeroplan, BA Executive- Blue, Lifemiles, AA Advantage, VIA Rail Preference, Iberia Plus
from what I've heard (and someone else will likely be able to confirm), it's usually easier to fly out Canada since there's no visa required.
Old Feb 6, 16, 8:11 am

Programs: AAdvantage Platinum
There is no actual "visa." You purchase a tourist card, either upon arrival in Cuba, or from the airline when you check in for your flight there.

But I think you’re asking the wrong questions. The bigger issue is not what Cuba requires but rather what the U.S. allows us Americans to do, and that's a lot more complicated. The trip as you describe would not conform to U.S. law. Officially, we cannot visit Cuba as independent tourists. We are allowed to go with organized groups on what is called a "people-to-people" tour whose focus is cultural exchange. We can also go on family visits, humanitarian visits, journalism projects, ... There are 12 permitted categories, but routine tourism is not one of them.

What you choose to do is your own concern. If you go on the trip you're describing, you'd have to travel via a third country. A charter flight between the U.S. and Cuba is not be an option for you unless you travel under one of the 12 approved categories.