Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Cruises
Reload this Page >

Suggestions welcome -- Celebrity or Holland?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 4, 2004, 3:58 pm
Original Poster

I'm new to cruising and are planning a Mediterranean cruise to see the Greek Isles this year.

I'm trying to decide between an April sailing on Holland America Westerdam with Balcony for $1,700 pp and a June sailing with Celebrity in an inside cabin (probably on a lower level) for around $1,500.
My research tells me the Celebrity comes pretty highly recommended and I think that's the smart choice. On the other hand, I'm wondering about the lower-end cabins on Celebrity. With this cruise, there isn't that much time at sea, so my gut tells me the better cruiseline is the best choice. I'm feeling a little bipolar here Would any of you seasoned cruisers like to voice any suggestions? Thanks in advance for your help!
Old Mar 5, 2004, 1:49 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
I haven't been on Celebrity so can't give you a direct comparison. However, I was supposed to have been on the Westerdam on 7 May on a cruise with my family (now canx for family/health reasons) and we went through the same selection process.

The feeling from those family members who had done both Celebrity and HAL was that they were broadly comparable lines, and would have been happy with either. HAL is my personal favourite, having had many very good cruises - although this has something to do with the fact that I am a bit younger and more extrovert than HAL's typical pax, so usually get on very well (and party) with the cruise staff and other crew.

The one thing that you should be aware of is that the April Westerdam cruise will be her first true sailing - we were very aware that we were booking her second "proper" cruise. This has the usual pros and cons - a sense of occasion on one hand, but also an increased risk of teething problems on the other.