How to self-generate a direct deposit?

Reply

Old Jun 11, 12, 11:35 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: PEK
Programs: SPG Plat, A3 *A Gold, HH Gold, IHG Plat
Posts: 392
How to self-generate a direct deposit?

What is the preferred method to simulate a direct deposit to qualify for some of the new bank account bonuses?

For example, Cap1 sent me an offer for $200 if I open a Premier Rewards Checking account and submit a direct deposit within 90 days of opening.

I am an American citizen living in China and don't have a US employer to submit a direct deposit. I understand I can open a company and sign up for an online payroll service.

What is your preferred method to self-generate a direct deposit?

Thanks.
sthubbar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 5:11 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,229
Transferring money from your current bank account into the new account should do it. Just make sure you meet the minimum amount the direct deposit has to be.

As far as I know, these offers don't differentiate between a payroll direct deposit and one you initiate yourself as a one-time.
danpeake is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 6:50 am
  #3  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 37,900
Moderator action

Thread moved from MilesBuzz to Credit Card Programs which serves as the discussion area for misc financial strategies that generate miles or points.
mia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 8:08 am
  #4  
inY
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 360
Do an ACH initiated by a different bank. Online banks will usually do this for free. Maybe do it once a month until you get the bonus.
inY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 9:21 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Programs: SPG GOLD
Posts: 215
I know Bank of American will let you send from a BofA personal to any other bank account for $3. YMMV when it comes trying to simulate a direct deposit. Some of the banks are smarter than you think. There's an old thread on FatWallet that discusses all the different banks and what they will let pass as a direct deposit. One sure way to do it is to set up payroll, but that gets really messy fast.
sunk818 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 10:19 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: AA, TY, UR, UA, US, WN, MR, SPG
Posts: 1,453
Originally Posted by sunk818 View Post
I know Bank of American will let you send from a BofA personal to any other bank account for $3.
Wait, people still pay for inter-institutional transfers?

Man I hate B of A.
roki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 12, 3:34 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW
Programs: AA 1M
Posts: 27,137
ACH does not work at Chase at least when I tried it in 2008. Lost 15k CO miles because of that.
UA Fan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 12, 7:16 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: PEK
Programs: SPG Plat, A3 *A Gold, HH Gold, IHG Plat
Posts: 392
Thank the ideas. I am aware of doing a payment from my own bank, though as some have mentioned that might or might not work.

Can any of you confirm that you have done it yourself and it worked?
sthubbar is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread