Community
Wiki Posts
Search

UA1K first experience on CO International

Search this Thread

Old May 8, 2009, 11:33 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K 1.45MM, Marriott+SPG Plat, Clear, Nexus, Global Entry and MEX Viajero Confiable
UA1K first experience on CO International

Thought I would give a United 1K perspective to flying on a CO international flight. This is my first time ever flying on CO internationally.

CO 105 5/7 ATH-EWR

I checked in online night before and chose 16B (762 aircraft) and noticed how extremely lite the load was <30 people. At the check in counter I requested an upgrade and was told that I had either needed to request 24hrs in advance or pay fare difference. I asked what the fare difference was = $4,000.00 I think there was a missed revenue opportunity for CO since I would have probably went for a $500-$600 offer. Considering the seats went out empty..

umm.. ok. 16B it is

In the gate area I notice a CO employee in a suit with an obvious british accent. I lamented the Chelsea loss with him and we struck up a conversation. Gareth is part of the "body" team that comes in and starts up seasonal operations (trains local staff, supervises ops until things running smoothly). Very nice person and was very accomodating about describing their service. I mentioned I had never flown CO internationally and he thanked me for my business. We also chatted about the CO to *Alliance membership in Oct. For the most part seems like everyone at CO is excited about it. We also chatted a little about Flyertalk of which he was familiar with ^ He also mentioned that if they can get the loads up on the EWR-ATH-EWR that they mihgt be able to go to a 2x-3x/week schedule year round.

On board the f/a's were very attentive and most went out of their way to say "hi".