Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > Chase | Ultimate Rewards
Reload this Page >

Any problems checking in for flight booked on canceled credit card?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 17, 2015, 7:27 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Mileage Plus

Hi all,

I'm near my one year anniversary on my Chase Mileage Plus Explorer card. I had booked an award trip for May using this card to pay for the fees and taxes. Will I run into any trouble if I close my account in April (after I pay off all my balances)? By trouble, I mean difficulty with checking-in on flights if they ask for my booking credit card. I don't want to get hit with the annual fee. I'm a newbie and didn't realize the anniversary is June. If I were smarter, I would have use another card to pay for my flights.
Old Mar 18, 2015, 12:59 pm

Programs: AA Platinum, Bonvoy Gold, DL Gold
Your ticket is already paid for, you don't have to keep the account open once it's been purchased.

The interesting question is, however, will you receive any of the benefits of the Explorer card (priority boarding and one free checked bag) since you have now cancelled it. My guess would be no, but maybe someone else here knows from personal experience.
Old Mar 19, 2015, 9:31 am
Moderator: Chase Ultimate Rewards

Programs: UA 2P, MR LT Plat, IHG Plat, BW Dia, HH Au, Avis PC
Originally Posted by DavidWeb
By trouble, I mean difficulty with checking-in on flights if they ask for my booking credit card. I don't want to get hit with the annual fee.
Separate from the validity of the transaction itself - which is fine, even if you cancel the card - is the credit card verification. Occasionally members post that an airline will ask to see the physical credit card at check-in, especially for reservations where the ticket is booked in a different name than the name on the credit card, and the reservation is to risky international destinations.