Wiki Posts
Search

United Presidential Plus vs. Club Card

Search this Thread

Old Mar 4, 2014, 8:46 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA Global Services; Bonvoy Ambassador
United Presidential Plus vs. Club Card

All - i have read some older threads on this, but I'm afraid I'm still bewildered.

I have a United PresidentialPlus Card (having first gotten one when it was a FREE benefit of high tier status with CO).

Of course, it is now not free.

I used to fly for a living, now I don't. I am lifetime elite b/c of MillionMiler status. But I no longer fly (to speak of) except family vacations. Earning reward travel *IS* a priority.

Which is better for me. A. My current PresidentialPlus card ($395, and as I understand it some ability to earn ELITE miles). or B. The alternative MileagePlus Club card ($395, and as I understand it the ability to earn 1.5 reward miles per $ spent).

Any help appreciated!
Old Mar 4, 2014, 9:54 am

Programs: UA 1K, AA EP, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Platinum, M life Noir
I'd go with the higher earning 1.5x United Club card since your stated priority is reward travel. If you're not travelling much these days, it's unlikely you'll exceed the Premier level you automatically get from MM status, so why bother trying to accrue PQMs at all?

If it's worth the trouble, you might also want to consider throwing in a Freedom, CSP, and/or Ink card since those cards earn UR points which can be transferred 1:1 to United. So instead of just 1.5x, you could get 5x on Freedom bonus categories, 2x on dining and traveling with CSP, 2x on gas with Ink, and 5x on office supply stores and certain telecom bills with Ink. Plus all the sign-up bonuses.
Old Mar 4, 2014, 10:09 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Originally Posted by bribro