Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Canada
Reload this Page >

US to US flight connecting in YUL

US to US flight connecting in YUL

Reply

Old Mar 21, 19, 8:24 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 250
US to US flight connecting in YUL

I have a weird layover where I am leaving the US and connecting to YUL and going right back to the US. What do I need to pass through in YUL as far as immigration?
chitink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 8:34 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SFO
Programs: UA
Posts: 94
Originally Posted by chitink View Post
I have a weird layover where I am leaving the US and connecting to YUL and going right back to the US. What do I need to pass through in YUL as far as immigration?
That sounds like cabotage to me if I am not mistaken? That is, assuming you are taking AC and not a codeshare or something.

Last edited by bman1002; Mar 21, 19 at 8:35 am Reason: AC comment.
bman1002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 8:39 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 250
Originally Posted by bman1002 View Post
That sounds like cabotage to me if I am not mistaken? That is, assuming you are taking AC and not a codeshare or something.
I am not sure what that is? We are arriving on an AA flight and connecting on a AC flight.
chitink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 8:46 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: YVR
Programs: AC*SE-MM, Marriot PPE
Posts: 1,646
It's not sold as a single ticket connecting flight (which would be "cabotage" and against the rules) presumably. Either way, they don't expect US-US connections in Canadian airports, so you'll have to do Canadian immigration then turn around and do US immigration.
chitink likes this.
krayZpaving is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 9:22 am
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend and Moderator: Air Canada Aeroplan & Manufactured Spending
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: YEG
Posts: 48,189
As this is not really an airline specific question the thread has been relocated to the FT Canada destination forum for further discussion.

tcook052
Air Canada forum moderator
tcook052 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 6:30 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: En Route
Programs: Many
Posts: 4,613
Haven't done this in YUL, but in YYZ I went through the border into Canada, then walked down to US Departures and went back through security and back through US immigration then to the gate.
GetSetJetSet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 7:22 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, SPG, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,408
Being AA to AC it's cabotage. If on two tickets things should be ok but DO NOT tell AA about the second flight. If you have luggage you'll have to clear Canadian immigration, get bag, go through customs, check bag with AC and then clear US immigration (Flights from YUL to the US are CBP precleared.
Be sure to leave a lot of time between flights.
Yoshi212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 7:41 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 250
Originally Posted by Yoshi212 View Post
Being AA to AC it's cabotage. If on two tickets things should be ok but DO NOT tell AA about the second flight. If you have luggage you'll have to clear Canadian immigration, get bag, go through customs, check bag with AC and then clear US immigration (Flights from YUL to the US are CBP precleared.
Be sure to leave a lot of time between flights.
we do not have luggage. What will we have to do at YUL. We have about 2.5 hours.
chitink is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 8:26 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Atlanta Metro
Programs: DL Gold Medallion, AA, UA, BA
Posts: 1,069
I had never heard or read the word "cabotage" before. I initially thought it was some kind of Flyertalk-invented terminology based on "sabotage."
hotturnip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 9:42 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: UA, SPG, Hilton Gold, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,408
At YUL you'll do Canadian immigration and if asked just tell them you're in transit between flights. Most won't ask details than that. Since no baggage you'll pass through Customs and proceed to US PreClearance to do US immigration & customs. Board your plane and when you land it'll be like you were a domestic flight. Walk off the plane and to transportation.

Originally Posted by chitink View Post
we do not have luggage. What will we have to do at YUL. We have about 2.5 hours.
It's a bit outdated, in my opinion, law about who can carry passengers between two domestic routes in the territory of a country. It gets complicated with places like Hawaii and Guam.
Originally Posted by hotturnip View Post
I had never heard or read the word "cabotage" before. I initially thought it was some kind of Flyertalk-invented terminology based on "sabotage."
Yoshi212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 19, 9:43 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: YYZ
Programs: FOTSG Tangerine Ex E35k (AC)
Posts: 5,213
Depending upon OPs passport might CBSA in YUL object to this? Unlikely to be asked any questions if legal resident of Canada but others will be listing duration of stay as “1 day” and may be asked purpose of visit no?
jc94 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 19, 6:23 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 673
Originally Posted by jc94 View Post
Depending upon OPs passport might CBSA in YUL object to this? Unlikely to be asked any questions if legal resident of Canada but others will be listing duration of stay as “1 day” and may be asked purpose of visit no?
I can't imagine it would be a big deal. The OP could simply say something like "we're doing a mileage run" or some other answer indicating they're headed straight back to the US.
JimInOhio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 19, 8:49 am
  #13  
Carlson Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: OTP/KRK
Programs: M&M FTL, Flying Blue Silver, Miles+Bonus Gold, BAEC Blue
Posts: 515
Originally Posted by chitink View Post
What will we have to do at YUL. We have about 2.5 hours.
Last fall I had a weird flight via YUL as well, 2 hours connection time and due to my unusual and weird itinerary (Casablanca - Montreal - Casablanca b2b - last 747 commercial flight for Royal Air Maroc) I had interview with 3 different agents and at the end I still had 1h to kill in the airside (after I passed again the security check) good luck
GBobon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 19, 2:25 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PMD
Programs: UA*G, NW, AA. WR, HH, IHG, Accor. TT-GE.
Posts: 1,969
Originally Posted by chitink View Post
I have a weird layover where I am leaving the US and connecting to YUL and going right back to the US. What do I need to pass through in YUL as far as immigration?
You need to have documents that allow you to be admitted into Canada and be admitted to the United States.
HkCaGu is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 19, 4:11 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: ba silver
Posts: 172
It' s two separate airlines and from the OP' s information two separate tickets so this isn't cabotage as it' s not being sold as a through trip.. When you land at Trudeau you go upstairs through a long corridor towards CBSA; there are stairs midway leading to US departures and US CBP. You may or may be allowed to go that way. They will definitely not check bags all the way through. You'll have to claim them and check them again with AC. This is not a connection, but rather a trip to Montreal followed by a trip to another city from Montreal. It' s important to keep in mind that if your first flight is delayed and you miss the second one you will forfeit the second ticket if it' s non-refundable, and your first airline is not responsible to re-route you if the flight is delayed, only to get you to Montreal. Good luck!
rickg523, airoli, Absolute and 3 others like this.
stevendorechester is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread