1A Showing as Available, unable to reserve

Old Jan 14, 2023, 4:23 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Programs: BAEC Gold; Accor Platinum
Posts: 42
1A Showing as Available, unable to reserve

Off to SFO in the A380 soon. 1A showing as available (blocked, but okay as have Gold) - I can select it, but when saving I get an error. The online chat eventually came back and said there was an issue and to try again in 1 or 2 weeks!

Anyone else had this issue before, and able to resolve?
Lapchien is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 4:26 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: BAEC Bronze
Posts: 449
Maybe it's blocked as faulty, rather than/as well as blocked for status.
FamilyOf6 is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 4:36 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Programs: BAEC Gold; Accor Platinum
Posts: 42
Originally Posted by FamilyOf6
Maybe it's blocked as faulty, rather than/as well as blocked for status.
Sure, I thought of that - but the flight isn't until June!
Lapchien is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 4:47 am
  #4  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 63,167
Originally Posted by Lapchien
Sure, I thought of that - but the flight isn't until June!
Hence the advice to look again in a few weeks.

Some seat repairs don't have an end date, thanks to problems with supply chains and labour shortages.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 2:46 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Programs: Costco Club
Posts: 1,116
Could be blocked as some sort of crew rest seat?
StevenSeagalFan is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 3:11 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Programs: British Airways GGL/CCR, Hilton Diamond & Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,596
Originally Posted by StevenSeagalFan
Could be blocked as some sort of crew rest seat?
no. they dont do that - most likely inop
PGberkshire is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 5:01 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: EU
Posts: 453
June!

June! You have 5 months, Chill.
bmiStar is offline  
Old Jan 14, 2023, 5:06 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: KL Platinum; A3 Gold
Posts: 28,450
Originally Posted by Lapchien
Off to SFO in the A380 soon.
Originally Posted by Lapchien
Sure, I thought of that - but the flight isn't until June!
I guess June ain't that soon!
mikeyfly likes this.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Jan 20, 2023, 12:26 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
Programs: Costco Club
Posts: 1,116
Originally Posted by PGberkshire
no. they dont do that - most likely inop
They 100% do that. While the widebodies do have dedicated crew rest areas, there are times they have to block a seat for crew break/rest as well. I unfortunately had to do it many times as a manager for an airline.
StevenSeagalFan is offline  
Old Jan 20, 2023, 12:38 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 810
Yes they do but BA dont usually reserve them in First. Sometimes there are (usually flight crew) rest seats in Club depending on the length of flight.
Saladman is offline  
Old Jan 20, 2023, 4:15 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Programs: BA Executive Club - Gold
Posts: 256
Originally Posted by Saladman
Yes they do but BA don’t usually reserve them in First. Sometimes there are (usually flight crew) rest seats in Club depending on the length of flight.
The 787 being a prime example where it has an F cabin but crew rest on longer flights is a rear bulkhead window seat (with direct aisle access).

CB
cbyrne92 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.