Wiki Posts
Search

BA Avios for NYC-Athens?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 26, 2021, 5:05 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AmEx, UA, BA, AA, VS
BA Avios for NYC-Athens?

Hi I hope this is the right forum to ask! I am planning a two-week+ trip from NYC to Athens and then a couple Greek islands in August, for two people. We have a lot of flexibility on exact dates, thought we prefer first half of the month. I'd like to find the best way to use miles for 1st class (or lie-flat business) for non-stop to NYC to Athens, but willing to do a stopover or same-day change elsewhere in Europe.

I have a huge amount of points in BA and AA (750k+ each), plus VirginAtlantic and AmEx that can be transferred to partners. But I have little experience in trying to use partner airlines (OneWorld etc) to come up with best options. In a quick check on direct flights, AA's NYC-ATH for example is absurd, literally 700k rt in first class (seats look more like business but are lie flat).

So I'm prepared to do stopovers, in almost any city that can help get 1st class or lie-flat biz at reasonable miles/surcharge $. London, Madrid, Rome, Zurich etc would all be fine, although a non-stop NYC-ATH would be much preferred for the outbound flight if it's less than say 150k/person and a not outrageous surcharge.

Where/how should I look? I've never used a travel agent or consultant for award flights and would consider that as well.
Old Jan 27, 2021, 4:12 am

Programs: OZ Diamond, BA Gold, Bonvoy Ambassador, HH Gold
Beginning June 3, American Airlines will launch a new service for the summer 2021 season from Athens to New York (JFK) on a Boeing 777-200. Flights will be available for booking beginning this Monday, January 25.
https://www.ekathimerini.com/261554/...ork-as-of-june
Old Jan 27, 2021, 4:19 am
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K