Problem with BA.com and Chromium Edge

Old Jun 7, 20, 9:33 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 236
Problem with BA.com and Chromium Edge

Hi,

just upgraded to Microsoft's new Chromium Edge...Anybody else now have problems with BA's website...??

It keeps forgetting my country and language preferences (which are UK and English) and defaults to the local BA website for my location i.e. France

Previous version of Edge worked ok...also tried messing with various options under the settings menu but to no avail...

Tried it on another PC running Windows 7 (Chromium Edge runs on 7)...and same problem...

Chris
Chris_G is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 9:34 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: BA - Blue > Bronze > Silver > Bronze > Blue
Posts: 6,587
Originally Posted by Chris_G View Post
Hi,

just upgraded to Microsoft's new Chromium Edge...Anybody else now have problems with BA's website...??

It keeps forgetting my country and language preferences (which are UK and English) and defaults to the local BA website for my location i.e. France

Previous version of Edge worked ok...also tried messing with various options under the settings menu but to no avail...

Tried it on another PC running Windows 7 (Chromium Edge runs on 7)...and same problem...

Chris
people only use Edge to download Chrome donít they?
Cap'n Benj is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 9:38 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ANR, BELGIUM
Programs: JE SUIS EXTRAORDINAIRE
Posts: 368
Originally Posted by Cap'n Benj View Post
people only use Edge to download Chrome donít they?

or mozilla firefox
Paren likes this.
diamantaire is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 9:40 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 236
Chromium Edge is Microsoft's new browser and an upgrade to Edge...

It can run across legacy operating systems such as Windows 7...that the original Edge could not.

No doubt Microsoft saw that they were losing the browser market to Google Chrome and Firefox when it came to such legacy PC's that hadn't or couldn't upgrade to Windows 10...

Chris
Chris_G is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 9:51 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,489
Originally Posted by Chris_G View Post
Chromium Edge is Microsoft's new browser and an upgrade to Edge...

It can run across legacy operating systems such as Windows 7...that the original Edge could not.

No doubt Microsoft saw that they were losing the browser market to Google Chrome and Firefox when it came to such legacy PC's that hadn't or couldn't upgrade to Windows 10...

Chris
The only upgrade to Edge is 'Not Edge'. I use Firefox everywhere (Windows, Linux and iOS) and also have a Chrome install for the one or two websites that won't accept an adblocker.
BlueThroughCrimp likes this.
SteveF is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 1:29 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leicestershire, UK
Programs: BA Bronze, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite, Heathrow Rewards Premium, Tesco Clubcard, M&S Sparks
Posts: 435
Chris_G have you tried checking your cookie settings? It sounds like it is forgetting your settings because it is not saving in a cookie... or it's just a compatibility issue / bug.

Like others, I use Chrome (on Mac) and have done for years, but I'm slightly edging towards Firefox now due to Chrome slowly eating more RAM in recent years.
Paren is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 1:36 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dundee
Programs: BA Plastic. Speedwell Bar Lifetime Platinum.
Posts: 1,059
Originally Posted by SteveF View Post
I use Firefox everywhere (Windows, Linux and iOS) and also have a Chrome install for the one or two websites that won't accept an adblocker.
Same, but v77 and that address bar enhancement?
SteveF likes this.
BlueThroughCrimp is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 1:50 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: LHR, LGW
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 2,336
Isnít Chromium a Google product?
rockflyertalk is online now  
Old Jun 7, 20, 2:02 pm
  #9  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 9,632
Originally Posted by rockflyertalk View Post
Isn’t Chromium a Google product?
The OP is referring to a version of Edge rebuilt by Microsoft using Google's open source Chromium framework.
rockflyertalk and mikeyfly like this.
golfmad is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 2:17 pm
  #10  
1P
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: LAX and LHR. UA lifetime Gold 1.8MM 1K , DL PM, HHonors Gold, Marriott Gold, BW Plat, Hertz #1 Gold PC, Avis Preferred
Posts: 3,132
Try Opera. I use this a lot, and Chrome when necessary. Edge is simply not safe. Firefox has been a disaster area for a number of years now, so I avoid it too, having used it more or less exclusively for a long time before that..
1P is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 2:33 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Lemonia. Best Greek ever.
Posts: 1,862
Like many others, I find the best Edge product is Not-Edge.

BA might have millions of IT problems, but at least BA.com works reliably with Firefox.
Ancient Observer is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 4:18 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Programs: BA Silver, A3
Posts: 735
Originally Posted by BlueThroughCrimp View Post
Same, but v77 and that address bar enhancement?
If you do some searching you will find out what to change to reset the inflated address bar at least for the time being.
Stormbel is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 6:03 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,972
Originally Posted by 1P View Post
Try Opera. I use this a lot, and Chrome when necessary. Edge is simply not safe. Firefox has been a disaster area for a number of years now, so I avoid it too, having used it more or less exclusively for a long time before that..
opera, chrome and chromium-edge all use the chromium engine now

different skins/features on top, and maybe some minor changes under

Last edited by paperwastage; Jun 7, 20 at 6:11 pm
paperwastage is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 6:41 pm
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,063
Surely what people wish to use for a web browser is up to them - suggesting using another browser that the person might think is superior / denigrading what the person wants to use, hardly helps address if there is an issue with the browser/help person work with it

Just tested Edge and it was switching back to local country initially but now seems to be holding the preference - not sure what I did that changed it other than changing the language to English(UK) ; I did do things such as disabling services and set strict tracking prevention, but dont see that they should have caused the ssue
revorgap and FlyingWeasel like this.

Last edited by Dave Noble; Jun 7, 20 at 6:55 pm
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Jun 7, 20, 7:50 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 236
Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
Surely what people wish to use for a web browser is up to them - suggesting using another browser that the person might think is superior / denigrading what the person wants to use, hardly helps address if there is an issue with the browser/help person work with it

Just tested Edge and it was switching back to local country initially but now seems to be holding the preference - not sure what I did that changed it other than changing the language to English(UK) ; I did do things such as disabling services and set strict tracking prevention, but dont see that they should have caused the ssue
Is this Chromium Edge or just plain Edge...??

Chris
Chris_G is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: