Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Terminal 5 could house all Oneworld Flights from June

Terminal 5 could house all Oneworld Flights from June

Old May 21, 20, 6:01 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Blue
Posts: 1,316
Terminal 5 could house all Oneworld Flights from June

I have just read that Heathrow are planning to move all Oneworld airlines to T5 to join BA from next month.

This would be quite an interesting move given that the terminal swaps have already happened. How would BAs system cope with Qatar and Qantas flights? Would they go under BA operates flight numbers?
BAeuro is online now  
Old May 21, 20, 6:13 am
  #2  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges and Carbon Conscious Travel
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 20,052
I went to my usual set of credible sources (Heathrow Twitter feed, London Air Travel) but see nothing about this. Where did you read this?
Prospero is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 6:18 am
  #3  
McG
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 710
Saw it rumoured on Airliners.net yesterday.

https://www.airliners.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1446501
McG is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 6:20 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 28,759
I thought there was a problem housing any other airlines in T5 due to the work that was needed on the systems in T5 which were only usable for BA (and with some effort IB). Wasn't this part of the reason not to move any other airlines in when T3/4 were closed?

I would have thought if there was any reorganisation it would be moving more/all BA T3 flights in to T5, and that leaves T3/T2 useable for any other airlines.
KARFA is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 6:48 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 65
*could* but as we've discussed at length here before, there are significant barriers to doing so. Systems being one or the bigger hurdles.

With distancing still in play, I'd have thought it was better (albeit perhaps not for the airlines in terms of shared costs) to have more, less full terminals, than one very busy terminal.
T8191, HFHFFlyer and imkevinmc like this.
Truthmonkey is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 6:49 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Blue
Posts: 1,316
Originally Posted by Prospero View Post
I went to my usual set of credible sources (Heathrow Twitter feed, London Air Travel) but see nothing about this. Where did you read this?


I saw it on Instagram from a source who is usually very reliable. Im not 100% sure about this though due to the issues weve all pointed out before.
BAeuro is online now  
Old May 21, 20, 6:52 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,653
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
I thought there was a problem housing any other airlines in T5 due to the work that was needed on the systems in T5 which were only usable for BA (and with some effort IB). Wasn't this part of the reason not to move any other airlines in when T3/4 were closed?

I would have thought if there was any reorganisation it would be moving more/all BA T3 flights in to T5, and that leaves T3/T2 useable for any other airlines.
There is no "CUTE" (i.e. Common, airport-owned) equipment in T5 and, as far as I knew up until a few years ago, BA's idiosyncratic firewalls didn't like anything that wasn't 100% BA software. Hence the reason why IB's flights were treated like a BA flight operated by Iberia.

Now, Iberia has managed to circumvent that, given that ResIber (or whatever their DCS is called) is running on what I suppose are BA sets, if not landside at least airside. If it's been done for IB, it should and could be done for others, especially those OW airlines (I'm thinking CX, JL) who also run on Amadeus Altea. JFE is already available landside and airside. Are all OW airlines going to go to T5? I somehow doubt it, unless we are seeing a very long road to recovery with very low loads and flights.

Thinking out loud, having OW in T5 would also mean having non-BA staff above and, crucially, below the wing (American has its own baggage operation and Engineering, for instance) and there were agreements, way back, preventing BA from doing this. Sure, everything is up in the air right now so... never say never.
nancypants and TraumaDoc like this.
13901 is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 7:07 am
  #8  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 13,090
Originally Posted by BAeuro View Post
I saw it on Instagram from a source who is usually very reliable. I’m not 100% sure about this though due to the issues we’ve all pointed out before.
That screenshot does not appear to be in the style of Heathrow Airport; poor grammar and wrong oneworld styling. I suspect someone is playing mischief.
Tobias-UK is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 7:12 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Roswell, GA
Programs: AA EXP 2.8m,Lifetime PLT, Hilton Diamond, IHG PlLT, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,573
that would be nice.. no more taking the bus form T3 to T5 over and over over again
fotographer is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 7:20 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: LHR, LGW
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 2,289
Gosh this would cause outrage amongst those whom are avid T3 lounge devotees! How on earth would they cope having to put up with the very basic First & CCR lounges?!
rockflyertalk is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 7:33 am
  #11  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: N/A
Programs: Go Fish
Posts: 4,810
Originally Posted by rockflyertalk View Post
Gosh this would cause outrage amongst those whom are avid T3 lounge devotees! How on earth would they cope having to put up with the very basic First & CCR lounges?!
I cant imagine CX moving, their superior offering in T3!
worldtrav and imkevinmc like this.
nufnuf77 is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 7:49 am
  #12  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TPA/ABZ
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold. GGL/CCR.
Posts: 9,562
Originally Posted by Tobias-UK View Post
That screenshot does not appear to be in the style of Heathrow Airport; poor grammar and wrong oneworld styling. I suspect someone is playing mischief.
Indeed. With a title of 'Heathrow Airline Operation Update' they were not off to a good start either.

Tobias-UK and mikeyfly like this.
golfmad is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 8:24 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mostly UK
Programs: Mucci Extraordinaire, Hilton Diamond, BA Gold (ex BD)
Posts: 10,765
Originally Posted by Tobias-UK View Post
That screenshot does not appear to be in the style of Heathrow Airport; poor grammar and wrong oneworld styling. I suspect someone is playing mischief.
Here's the official announcement!
Cris L, VSLover, Genius1 and 20 others like this.
layz is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 8:24 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: BAEC Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, AMEX Platinum (US)
Posts: 18,295
Originally Posted by McG View Post
Saw it rumoured on Airliners.net yesterday.

https://www.airliners.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1446501
If the source was The Onion or Daily Mash it'd be more credible...
Gastrocnemius and nancypants like this.
Fraser is offline  
Old May 21, 20, 8:34 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: LHR
Programs: OWE, *G
Posts: 34
While I would enjoy the First track, I would miss the much superior lounges in T3 (and T4). I doubt this would happen, and if it did it sounds costly to move lounges for AA, CX, QF, QR...
EuropeanPete likes this.
Andrew35K is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: