Wiki Posts
Search

BA Bronze Useless?

Search this Thread

Old Nov 21, 2019, 1:52 am
Original Poster

Programs: QF Gold
BA Bronze Useless?

I've managed to qualify for BA Bronze again for the second time just flying economy - I can't help but feel that this tier is a bit useless, particularly compared to some other FF programmes.

Off the top of my head: In OW, CXMP Silver and QRPC Silver both offer lounge access when flying them, and QRPC offers 10kg extra baggage too. I think AA Ruby at least offers extra baggage on domestic fares. In Skyteam, DL/AF/KLM Silver gives extra baggage too.

I've only credited my flights to BA because I've been collecting Avios for a few years now but I can't help but feel that my years at bronze have been wasted by not crediting to CXMP or QRPC as I flew those two airlines quite a lot in the years that I made ruby.
Old Nov 21, 2019, 1:55 am

Programs: BA Gold (ex-GGL, maybe future Silver), Hilton Diamond
TBH, it is fairly useless although the extra miles come in handy for people flying on cheapest economy, limited seat selection and priority boarding are noticeable, and business class check in can be a lifesaver when running tight on time. That said, silver is a world away in terms of benefits and likely to be worth stretching for for anyone in the upper half of the bronze TPs.

The other question would be - would you have earned ruby or anything at all if crediting to another programme?
Old Nov 21, 2019, 1:55 am

Programs: BAEC Silver, UA2MM, QF Platinum, VA Platinum., Volare Executive Club
Not as useless as QF Silver. How about free seat assignment within 7 days?
Old Nov 21, 2019, 1:58 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA Gold
According to the handful displaying their tags at TPA on Saturday and freely boarding WTP with group 1, I'd say it's a great benefit
GaxxyFlyer, ENTP, tynmar and 1 others like this.
Old Nov 21, 2019, 2:03 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist