CCR transit advice

Reply

Old Jun 7, 19, 6:49 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Derbyshire,UK
Programs: BAEC Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 69
CCR transit advice

Upcoming first time in 1st and first transit @LHR. What is the Quickest route from FCC to CCR ? Many thanks in anticipation.
killaypirate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 6:53 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Programs: Mucci. Nothing else matters.
Posts: 35,374
The shortest route is to use transfer security. On exiting security, turn right and walk towards the far end of the building. There is a door to the CCR just by the exit from south security.

Is that the quickest route? Let's discuss Brexit instead.
Globaliser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 6:55 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 12,820
Originally Posted by killaypirate View Post
Upcoming first time in 1st and first transit @LHR. What is the Quickest route from FCC to CCR ? Many thanks in anticipation.
Hi,
After FCC security , take a right and walk all the way down to the end where the CCR door is.

If arriving from the UK airports into T5 domestically there is no need for further security.

Regards

TBS

Last edited by The _Banking_Scot; Jun 7, 19 at 6:59 am Reason: Eding process
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 12:07 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Programs: BA GGL, CCR - TK G
Posts: 432
Originally Posted by killaypirate View Post
Upcoming first time in 1st and first transit @LHR. What is the Quickest route from FCC to CCR ? Many thanks in anticipation.
Sorry.. What's FCC?
Vasco Pridat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 12:09 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 12,820
Originally Posted by Vasco Pridat View Post
Sorry.. What's FCC?
Hi,

FCC= Flight connections Centre

At t5 different routes depending if you are going Int-Int or Int-Dom ( + RoI) but all involve going through security again)
Regards

TBS
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 12:16 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Programs: BA GGL, CCR - TK G
Posts: 432
Leaning new things here every day 😍
If this is the usually crowded desks in front of the fast track entrance to the upstairs security.. Meaning you are transferring from... Where?
Why even bother waiting there?
Def. If you hold a passport that gets you e gate access to the UK. I would always immigrate quickly and take the little longer walk down past the baggage claim out to the very left and up with the elevator to departure and the First Wing.
Way better immigration and more friendly over all experience.
A lot of the time there is no fast track at transfer t5
Vasco Pridat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 12:28 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 12,820
Hi,

There are a few desks for BA staff to check your onward bp's then for pax going Intl-Dom there is the UK border force desks ( now there are e gates also) , ba desks and a desk for your photo to be taken ( for domestic pax only)

If I have sufficient time I will go landside and go via the F wing.

If you do not have OWe/BA gold to use the first wing then you are probably just as quick in the FCC.

I wonder how many eligble pax go landside then use F wing rather than stay at the FCC?

Regards

TBS
The _Banking_Scot is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 3:59 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Central Scotland, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 258
Originally Posted by The _Banking_Scot View Post
Hi,

There are a few desks for BA staff to check your onward bp's then for pax going Intl-Dom there is the UK border force desks ( now there are e gates also) , ba desks and a desk for your photo to be taken ( for domestic pax only)

If I have sufficient time I will go landside and go via the F wing.

If you do not have OWe/BA gold to use the first wing then you are probably just as quick in the FCC.

I wonder how many eligble pax go landside then use F wing rather than stay at the FCC?

Regards

TBS
If arriving into T5 on a domestic, we always do flight connections as there is no additional security.

Otherwise, we usually go always go landslide and back in via F Wing. Itís not necessarily any quicker than the FCC route when thatís working well - in fact itís probably a few mins slower - but I do find itís more consistent. Iíd also much rather take a longer walk to stretch my legs and have less time queueing via F Wing.
The _Banking_Scot and mrow like this.
BobServant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 8:08 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, AA EXP, A3 Gold, Honors Diamond, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 1,051
Originally Posted by BobServant View Post


If arriving into T5 on a domestic, we always do flight connections as there is no additional security.

Otherwise, we usually go always go landslide and back in via F Wing. Itís not necessarily any quicker than the FCC route when thatís working well - in fact itís probably a few mins slower - but I do find itís more consistent. Iíd also much rather take a longer walk to stretch my legs and have less time queueing via F Wing.
Exactly my modus operandi.

I find the flight connections security far too variable, and I seem to have always arrived just after theyíve let 20 people into fast track from the normal lines.

On the last occasion I queried why they did this with a HAL security supervisor and he told me that it was in direct response to a BA request. Whilst I have no evidence to the contrary so took this at face value, it seemed a little micro-managing to me. Anyone know if BA really do make these sorts of requests of HAL security?
Markie likes this.
mrow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 19, 9:23 pm
  #10  
Moderator: Hyatt Gold Passport & Star Alliance
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: London, UK
Programs: UA-1K 3MM/AA-Plat/HY-Globalist/BA-CCR/GGL/Gold for Life
Posts: 10,533
Originally Posted by mrow View Post


Exactly my modus operandi.

I find the flight connections security far too variable, and I seem to have always arrived just after theyíve let 20 people into fast track from the normal lines.

On the last occasion I queried why they did this with a HAL security supervisor and he told me that it was in direct response to a BA request. Whilst I have no evidence to the contrary so took this at face value, it seemed a little micro-managing to me. Anyone know if BA really do make these sorts of requests of HAL security?
I was told by a Security Supervisor that once at the top of the connection escalators there is no Fast Track any more!
I avoid connections security at Heathrow at all costs.
Vasco Pridat and mrow like this.
Markie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 19, 2:13 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lancaster UK / Pasadena CA
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 1,176
Originally Posted by BobServant View Post
we usually go always go landslide and back in via F Wing. Itís not necessarily any quicker than the FCC route when thatís working well - in fact itís probably a few mins slower - but I do find itís more consistent. Iíd also much rather take a longer walk to stretch my legs and have less time queueing via F Wing.
Can you re-enter via F Wing on a domestic bp (i.e. when transferring from Intl F to domestic CE)? If so I'll try it next time. I always just follow domestic connections and after all these years it never fails to p--- me off when the fast track feeds into the scrum at the top of the stairs.
mrow likes this.
fripperies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 19, 2:18 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, AA EXP, A3 Gold, Honors Diamond, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 1,051
Originally Posted by fripperies View Post
Can you re-enter via F Wing on a domestic bp (i.e. when transferring from Intl F to domestic CE)? If so I'll try it next time. I always just follow domestic connections and after all these years it never fails to p--- me off when the fast track feeds into the scrum at the top of the stairs.
There is an agent before the entry gates so they will be able to check eligibility. So long as you have Flounge access you can use the F wing AFAIK.

I used the agents several times when I was building up my BA status and showed them my AA EXP card and was allowed to pass without issue, despite having my BA Bronze/Silver number on the boarding pass.

So I would say that yes, an F boarding pass from an arriving flight should get you through without issue.
mrow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 19, 2:28 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Central Scotland, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 258
Originally Posted by mrow View Post
...

So I would say that yes, an F boarding pass from an arriving flight should get you through without issue.
Yes we did this several times before I got myself to Gold, just show inbound and onward BPs at the manned counter.
mrow likes this.
BobServant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 19, 2:32 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, AA EXP, A3 Gold, Honors Diamond, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 1,051
Originally Posted by BobServant View Post


Yes we did this several times before I got myself to Gold, just show inbound and onward BPs at the manned counter.
Good to have it confirmed. Thanks BobServant.
fripperies likes this.
mrow is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread