Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

BA273/272 LHR-SAN Nov 2019 T5 to T3 and Hi-J to mid-J

BA273/272 LHR-SAN Nov 2019 T5 to T3 and Hi-J to mid-J

Old May 21, 19, 3:44 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Kirkcaldy, Fife
Programs: BAEC Blue, United MP member, Marriott Reward Silver member, IHG, KimptonKarma
Posts: 99
BA273/272 LHR-SAN Nov 2019 T5 to T3 and Hi-J to mid-J

I have just had an email this morning that my November birthday trip flights have changed. We were looking forward to an easy T5 -T5 connection from and to our Edinburgh flights and we safely booked into 14J/K on both flights for our first CW experience. We now have to change terminals to T3 and the winter 747 seems to be a mid J with only four rows on main deck. I have put us into 20J/K. The slight flight time changes don't bother me.
Anyone able to explain the reason for these changes

Last edited by maisiedormouse; May 21, 19 at 3:45 am Reason: spelling
maisiedormouse is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 3:51 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 26,883
It seems from Sunday 27 October SAN moves from T5 to T3. Usually there are a few routes which move between the two terminals with the changes to summer and winter timetables so I would expect some information from BA soon about other routes moving between the two as well.
maisiedormouse likes this.
KARFA is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 4:12 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,861
VEGAS TO T5 pleeeeease. Will be so much easier when arriving from AMS or INV
EDIwanderer, Tobias-UK and Mordac like this.
mikeyfly is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 4:20 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Kirkcaldy, Fife
Programs: BAEC Blue, United MP member, Marriott Reward Silver member, IHG, KimptonKarma
Posts: 99
As a blue exec flying CW what lounges can I use at T3? I have booked disability assistance in case my husband is having a bad day , what happens transferring terminals do we get the normal bus? He walks with a stick.
maisiedormouse is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 4:23 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,861
All non F lounges you can access - heavily discussed - have a look a the main thread :

Best T3 OneWorld Lounge
mikeyfly is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 4:26 am
  #6  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 41,026
If he requires disability assistance then usually one would follow the same process and same bus as fully abled passengers, the system is adapted to work with wheelchairs for example. You would therefore be met at the airbridge and assisted around to the bus transfer point at T5, join the usual T3 bus, and then continue around to the T3 gate.

To find the lounge guide referenced above in the future, just go to the Forum Dashboard, where the is a general guide to UK lounges, and separate guide to the T3 lounges.
corporate-wage-slave is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 4:49 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, A3*G, Mucci de l'expertise des Apps
Posts: 2,694
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
It seems from Sunday 27 October SAN moves from T5 to T3. Usually there are a few routes which move between the two terminals with the changes to summer and winter timetables so I would expect some information from BA soon about other routes moving between the two as well.
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
VEGAS TO T5 pleeeeease. Will be so much easier when arriving from AMS or INV
Presumably it will be PHX when that switches to the 777.
Airprox is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 5:42 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 612
Originally Posted by Airprox View Post
Presumably it will be PHX when that switches to the 777.
Or Vegas when it goes to A350 😉
mikeyfly likes this.
andymcdonnell is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 7:50 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Posts: 13,233
phoenix PHX to T5 from Winter 19?

Hi,

Juat had a look at a couple of dates in Nov/Dec 2019 and it looks like the BA PHX flight will br leaving from T5 ( and be a 787). The AA flight to PHX continues from T3

BA 289 to Phoenix

Regards

TBS
The _Banking_Scot is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 8:07 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Programs: BAEC Blue, Flying Blue Silver, Hilton Gold, Marriot Gold
Posts: 638
Originally Posted by The _Banking_Scot View Post
Hi,

Juat had a look at a couple of dates in Nov/Dec 2019 and it looks like the BA PHX flight will br leaving from T5 ( and be a 787). The AA flight to PHX continues from T3

BA 289 to Phoenix

Regards

TBS
T3 is showing for Feb.
bmibaby737 is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 8:52 am
  #11  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK/Las Vegas
Programs: BA Gold (GGL/CCR)
Posts: 12,656
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
VEGAS TO T5 pleeeeease...
That would male me a very happy chappie!
EDIwanderer and Geordie405 like this.
Tobias-UK is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 10:40 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Glasgow
Programs: BA Exec Gold
Posts: 19
Got the same email today for flights in January to SAN. Bit irritated as had planned a trip to CCR on the outbound after the domestic down from GLA. If we stay airside can we get into the CCR then transfer to T3 a bit later - sneaking suspicion we canít as per some old threads on the forum. Any recent experiences in the group ?
Steviemac is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 10:44 am
  #13  
Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, Mucci
Posts: 8,523
Originally Posted by Steviemac View Post
Got the same email today for flights in January to SAN. Bit irritated as had planned a trip to CCR on the outbound after the domestic down from GLA. If we stay airside can we get into the CCR then transfer to T3 a bit later - sneaking suspicion we canít as per some old threads on the forum. Any recent experiences in the group ?
Unfortunately you won't be able to get T5 Airside unless you have a BP for T5 and so no CCR. If you're in F on the way back though you'll be going from T3 to T5 so therefore CCR access on your domestic.
Steviemac likes this.
PETER01 is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 10:46 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Berlin
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,102
Originally Posted by Steviemac View Post
If we stay airside can we get into the CCR then transfer to T3 a bit later - sneaking suspicion we canít as per some old threads on the forum. Any recent experiences in the group ?
It must be at least three days since someone asked this.
Misco60 is offline  
Old May 21, 19, 10:58 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,178
For which your helpful reply will aid no end.
gw76 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread