Connecting device to IFE on densified 777s

Old Jan 22, 19, 4:28 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Connecting device to IFE on densified 777s

Hi folks. I'm going to be down the back on a densified 777 out of Gatwick next month. According to BA's press notice those new seats, although obviously awful (!), do at least have the new Panasonic IFE system (contrary to the info in the Dashboard). If so, does anyone know about connectivity to personal devices? I read previous threads about connecting via RCA cables to the slightly older system. Is that still the case with the Panasonic, or is there possibly a newer, more convenient way to do it. iPhone > RCA cables don't seem to exist!

Thanks

Rick
Rick5105 is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 5:58 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford
Programs: Skyteam Elite+, VS Red, HHonours Diamond, Accor Plat
Posts: 608
iPhone > RCA cables don't seem to exist
The digital to analog converter chip that used to be in older iPhones (with the 30 pin connectors) was removed beginning with the iPhone 5 (lightning connector). In essence the iPhone's socket became a serial port that can only carry digital data. As a result you won't find a RCA cable for iPhone 5 or newer unless you find some really specialist box of tricks that has the digital to analog converter and some way of powering it all self-contained. Such a box is unlikely to be cheap.

In any event I didn't think there is an external input on the densified IFE but I'll let those more experienced on that confirm or deny.
stuart_f is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:17 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Programs: BAEC Gold, IHG Spire Elite
Posts: 289
You will have to use a converter box to get RCA output from an iPhone. Use an iPhone to HDMI adapter (from apple) and get something like one of these:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07CVYB6JP https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07CVYB6JP
- this takes mini-usb for power, so you should be able to power it from the power socket in the seat or from a USB powerbank.

I have successfully used a variation on the above to hook display from a macbook to my video screen to play 2-player Playstation games with my seatmate's laptop. 4E/4F on a 747, but that was a few years ago!

That said: I don't know which aircraft still have the RCA input, it's not information that it's easy to find

Last edited by jerub; Jan 22, 19 at 7:23 am Reason: Link to amazon was for RCA->HDMI, rather than other way around. Replaced with appropriate link.
jerub is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:22 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MAN, PSP
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 90
It "looks" like they have full sized USB and either an HDMI or a micro USB from the not-very-clear BA shots. Who knows if they connect to anything useful beyond a trickle of power but may be worth a punt taking a couple of cables along


Hydebear is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:26 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oxford
Programs: Skyteam Elite+, VS Red, HHonours Diamond, Accor Plat
Posts: 608
I'm not sure that box is converting the right way around. The description says, "converts analog composite input to HDMI 1080p" and the icons under the main photo seem to suggest it does RCA > HDMI but not HDMI to RCA.

This one This one
looks to be the right way around. It's a lot cheaper than I was expecting!

Edit: Hydebear's photos seem to settle this. Whatever sockets those turn out to be, none of them is a composite input so we can abandon the search for DtoA converters
stuart_f is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:32 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 12
Was on this aircraft at the weekend. The smaller socket is a USB C, it sits next to the standard USB slot.
edonthebeach is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:40 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MAN, PSP
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 90
Originally Posted by edonthebeach View Post
Was on this aircraft at the weekend. The smaller socket is a USB C, it sits next to the standard USB slot.

Beat me to it! Just found this hi-res image...



Hydebear is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:52 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Programs: BAEC/IB
Posts: 38,372
Can I ask what is to be gained by connecting your device to the IFE? I honestly haven't a clue so would be interested to know.
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 7:59 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Programs: BAEC, VS, Emirates, Hilton, Marriott, SPG
Posts: 62
Bigger screen to watch downloaded movies?
HIDDY likes this.
whitespace is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 8:22 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by whitespace View Post
Bigger screen to watch downloaded movies?
Exactly this. Only have a regular sized iPhone 7, so was hoping to take advantage of the large seat-back screen to watch the various Netflix movies I've been saving up! But sounds like it might be more trouble than it's worth.
HIDDY likes this.
Rick5105 is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 8:23 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by edonthebeach View Post
Was on this aircraft at the weekend. The smaller socket is a USB C, it sits next to the standard USB slot.
I wonder if the USB C socket is for power only, or for video input.
Rick5105 is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 2:04 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Programs: American, Delta, United, Southwest, Marriott, HIlton, Sheraton, Hyatt, Avis, Hertz, National, Sixt
Posts: 45
it could be for either, but I've got USB C's on both my MacBook Pro and a similarly sized Dell PC, and they don't always work the way they're supposed to. You can try. . . .
Superjeff is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 10:45 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ORD
Posts: 353
(1) Are the two holes to the left for audio output?
(2) If "yes," does that mean I need to bring a converter jack if I'm flying on an A380 and have headphones with a 1/8" plug?
TribalistMeathead is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 10:52 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MAN, PSP
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 90
Originally Posted by TribalistMeathead View Post
(1) Are the two holes to the left for audio output?
(2) If "yes," does that mean I need to bring a converter jack if I'm flying on an A380 and have headphones with a 1/8" plug?

1. I presume they are audio
2. The A380 has a different IFE setup - the headphone sockets are in the arm I think (and if I remember you can plug a single jack into one of the sockets (the other is for power for BA supplied noise cancelling phones I think).
Hydebear is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 10:57 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: ORD
Posts: 353
Originally Posted by Hydebear View Post



1. I presume they are audio
2. The A380 has a different IFE setup - the headphone sockets are in the arm I think (and if I remember you can plug a single jack into one of the sockets (the other is for power for BA supplied noise cancelling phones I think).
Thanks, answered my own question before I could come back and edit my post!
Hydebear likes this.
TribalistMeathead is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: