Search

BA Needs Competition - Economist

Search this Thread

Old Jun 5, 2017, 1:14 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AC 35K
BA Needs Competition - Economist

Hi all,

Haven't seen this posted around here, but please merge if I missed the thread.

Interesting article on the Economist regarding the need for more competition for BA in order for it to improve its service and product standards. Agree with the fact that more competition would result in a better product, however not sure how realistic the proposed idea of a new full-service Heathrow-based carrier is. Seems a bit ambitious and idealistic, especially since my understanding is a third runway is still not guaranteed.

article here: http://www.economist.com/blogs/gulli...6/share-spoils

Cheers,
TUF
Old Jun 5, 2017, 1:20 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA Gold/OWE, several MUCCI, and assorted Pensions!
Interesting.

I'm no expert on these matters, but BA does seem to suffer from complacency and arrogance in respect of its position in the marketplace. How that could be shifted is, of course, the $100m question.
Old Jun 5, 2017, 1:41 pm

Programs: BA Gold, VS Gold
BA do have a competitor, albeit a significantly smaller one - Virgin Atlantic.

In my mind if Virgin had more landing slots and were able to target the business traveller market as BA do, especially since now they have the Delta tie up for domestic US connections, BA would no longer be able to be so complacent.

I don't see the need for a brand new carrier to compete, just take some of BA's landing slots away and give it to the other flag carrier.
Old Jun 5, 2017, 1:41 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA Gold / VS /IHG Diamond & Ambassador
There is competition it's just that BA has a very heavy level of inertia in many of it's customers who will stick with them no matter what they do and only fly with another airline if BA dosen't fly to their destination.