checked baggage question - using avios

Old Jan 6, 15, 4:57 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CMH
Posts: 231
checked baggage question - using avios

if i book ams//lhr//bfs with avios i'm assuming I'll have to pay for 1 checked bag in economy, but if i book business or first class do they get 1 free checked bag?

No status. I wasn't if UK vs Europe is considered international or whatever.

TIA
iruvmattree is offline  
Old Jan 6, 15, 5:01 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southampton, UK / Houston, USA
Programs: British Airways Executive Club Silver, Alitalia Freccia Alata
Posts: 1,350
Originally Posted by iruvmattree View Post
if i book ams//lhr//bfs with avios i'm assuming I'll have to pay for 1 checked bag in economy, but if i book business or first class do they get 1 free checked bag?

No status. I wasn't if UK vs Europe is considered international or whatever.

TIA
All flights (other than Hand Baggage Only Fares) are always inclusive of at least one 23 kgs bag on BA. All Avios bookings include a free bag. For your trip, a free bag of 23kgs is included in an economy class booking. If you choose to buy a J class ticket, one is allowed 2 bags at 32kgs.
BA0197 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 15, 5:02 pm
  #3  
Moderator, Iberia Airlines, Airport Lounges, and Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Programs: BA Lifetime Gold; Flying Blue Life Platinum; LH Sen.; Hilton Diamond; Kemal Kebabs Prized Customer
Posts: 42,261
BA flies to BHD, not BFS (fortunately for me!).

You get one bag if you don't have status in EuroTraveller/Domestic; and two checked bags in Club Europe. Plus up to 2 bags as hand luggage.

More information in the Baggage Guide which is in the Dashboard:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...age-guide.html
corporate-wage-slave is online now  
Old Jan 6, 15, 5:02 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, A3*G, Mucci de l'expertise des Apps
Posts: 2,762
Just to make sure you don't end up at a different airport than you are expecting...BA don't fly to BFS, they go to BHD Belfast City Airport.
Airprox is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: