Wiki Posts
Search

RT vs. One-way tix to Rio & Sao Paulo

Search this Thread

Old Jan 6, 2016, 12:35 pm
lyw
Original Poster

This is my first time on the site, and I was hoping for some advice. I've dreamed of going to Brazil for a few years now, and with my personal timing + the visas waived for the Olympics, I'm excited to be able to plan a trip this June!

With booking tickets, I'm having some trouble figuring out when the best time to book is, and whether to book RT or 2 one-way flights - OR to look for multi city? I'm pretty flexible all of June and want to go from near San Diego (LAX if necessary) --> Rio --> Sao Paulo. By booking RT to Rio, it's much cheaper than the multi city, but would it make sense to go back to Rio from Sao Paulo at the end of my trip?

I've been browsing through a multitude of flight comparison sites - but the ticket prices have jumped up $100-200 between Tuesday and Wednesday.
With the visa waiver AND Olympics coming up - would you say that booking ASAP (next week perhaps?) may be more important than following all the advice of blogs that have studied travel patterns?

I realize that no one can really give a concrete answer, but I would appreciate any kind of feedback! I'm just very excited to be making this dream come true, and want to make sure I'm cutting costs in the places I can! Thanks
Old Jan 6, 2016, 3:09 pm

I would say that booking ASAP (like yesterday!) would definitely be more important than any other consideration. Events like the Olympics do not conform to regular fare patterns.

Also, Rio has a very limited stock of beds for large events. Prices routinely rise 3X or more than regular high season. Be careful though if something looks too good to be true; people were caught without a place to stay during the World Cup when less expensive places finally realized what they could get and cancelled bookings.

The iconic tourist sights in Rio are probably going to be packed, with long wait lines.