Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Other Loyalty Programs/Partners > Amtrak | Guest Rewards
Reload this Page >

Philly, 30th St to Baltimore Penn - Acela or Regional?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 19, 2011, 9:42 am
Original Poster

Programs: Delta GM, *G, BA Blue, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Silver, LHW

Amtrak noob here; traveling with a colleague from downtown Philly to downtown Baltimore. A couple of questions about the trip:

How terrible is the regional service ($43) vs. the Acela ($83)? The Acela only appears to be 10 minutes faster. What other benefits besides WiFi does it provide?

Price isn't too much of an issue, but I do travel reasonably for work.

Do tickets become more expensive as the trip approaches / do they ever sell out?

Overall, what's the best choice for a 6-7p departure between the two cities?
Old Aug 19, 2011, 12:46 pm

Programs: AA-EP, SPG-Plat, MR-Gold, Hertz 5*
Originally Posted by 318i
How terrible is the regional service ($43) vs. the Acela ($83)? The Acela only appears to be 10 minutes faster. What other benefits besides WiFi does it provide?
None. It's a more modern train though... cool if you have never been on Acela before. That and the on-time performace can be better on Acela.

Do tickets become more expensive as the trip approaches / do they ever sell out?
Yes and Yes.

Overall, what's the best choice for a 6-7p departure between the two cities?
Are you talking weekday? Then it looks like there is a 6:07 (75% on time in July) Acela departure and regionals at 6:08 (45% on time in July) and 7:00 (70% on time in july)
Old Aug 19, 2011, 1:44 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA plus
You can make and pay for the reservation online, and as long as you don't print the ticket out, could cancel the reservation for a full refund. If you are going to use the reservation, you can print the ticket at a kiosk in the train station.
Old Aug 19, 2011, 1:51 pm

Programs: Marriott Lifetime Titanium, United Silver