Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Amex Platinum - got called for a $1800 balance!

Search this Thread

Old Aug 26, 2004, 5:14 pm
Original Poster

Amex Platinum - got called for a $1800 balance!

I have my new Amex Platinum for 3 weeks now, and charged $1800 on it so far. I received a call today from them asking me to pay them the full balance now so that I can continue using the card. I asked why, and they told me since they don't have my spending history, they'd need to do this.

I think this is absurd since:
1) My balance is not due for another week or two
2) $1800 is not a large amount by any standard
3) I have excellent credit, and usually charge $3000-$5000/month to my other credit cards
4) I'm willing to bet my money that if I have a new Visa or Master instead, they would not have called me for $1800 balance
5) The fact that it's Amex Platinum (and all the hypes they promised) with $395 annual fee but can't allow charges of $1800 really ticked me off

Anyone else has similar experience?
Old Aug 26, 2004, 5:31 pm
RCC

Originally Posted by AlexC
I have my new Amex Platinum for 3 weeks now, and charged $1800 on it so far. I received a call today from them asking me to pay them the full balance now so that I can continue using the card. I asked why, and they told me since they don't have my spending history, they'd need to do this.

I think this is absurd since:
1) My balance is not due for another week or two
2) $1800 is not a large amount by any standard
3) I have excellent credit, and usually charge $3000-$5000/month to my other credit cards
4) I'm willing to bet my money that if I have a new Visa or Master instead, they would not have called me for $1800 balance
5) The fact that it's Amex Platinum (and all the hypes they promised) with $395 annual fee but can't allow charges of $1800 really ticked me off

Anyone else has similar experience?