Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Amex UK Gold Card lounge access benefit?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 2, 2018, 9:04 am
Original Poster

Amex UK Gold Card lounge access benefit?

Hello,

I am fairly new to Amex and rewards cards in general - we currently use the Virgin Atlantic Amex which is about to end and so I am looking into other options. From what I’ve seen, the new Amex Gold seems to be a great option with the first fee waived. I know it gets you two lounge visits a year- is this per cardholder or per household? (I.e. if we had two cardholders, would we get four lounge visits?) Is it better to apply for one card and then add an additional cardholder or if two cards are applied for, does that offer more benefits?

I would be really grateful for any feedback about this card, or if there are any better options currently (I’m in the U.K.). We would be looking to accrue rewards points for flights if that changes anything!

Thanks in advance!
Old Jun 4, 2018, 3:11 am

Programs: FB Gold, BA Silver, HH Diamond, IHG Spire Ambassador, Marriott Plat Premier
Originally Posted by Megan Murray
Hello,

I am fairly new to Amex and rewards cards in general - we currently use the Virgin Atlantic Amex which is about to end and so I am looking into other options. From what I’ve seen, the new Amex Gold seems to be a great option with the first fee waived. I know it gets you two lounge visits a year- is this per cardholder or per household? (I.e. if we had two cardholders, would we get four lounge visits?) Is it better to apply for one card and then add an additional cardholder or if two cards are applied for, does that offer more benefits?

I would be really grateful for any feedback about this card, or if there are any better options currently (I’m in the U.K.). We would be looking to accrue rewards points for flights if that changes anything!

Thanks in advance!
Hi,

Welcome to the addictive world of miles and points!