Wiki Posts
Search

Aa award change cancel rules..

Search this Thread

Old Oct 16, 2022, 3:57 pm
Original Poster

Programs: United 1k aa exec plat
Aa award change cancel rules..

Newbie here.sorry for basic question but are all changes,cancellations now free for aa booked award flights?even for ones booked on aa for partner airlines?
Old Oct 16, 2022, 7:06 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Plat, Nat'l Exec Elite, Avis Presidents Club
Correct, no fee to cancel an award ticket and reinstate miles. For an award ticket change, you might have to pay a mileage difference if the new award is more expensive, but there is no change fee. Web Specials can’t be changed, only cancelled.
Antarius likes this.
Old Oct 17, 2022, 2:41 pm
Original Poster

Thanks ..does a web special state web special on it?
Old Oct 17, 2022, 2:47 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Originally Posted by bryanwallace
Thanks ..does a web special state web special on it?
Yes, once you select a Web Special itinerary.
Old Oct 17, 2022, 3:53 pm

Originally Posted by guv1976
Yes, once you select a Web Special itinerary.
And you get a fairly explicit warning about the fact it can't be changed. AA does a pretty good job of being transparent about these.
Old Oct 17, 2022, 8:19 pm
Original Poster

thanks all
Old Oct 17, 2022, 9:17 pm

Originally Posted by jordyn
And you get a fairly explicit warning about the fact it can't be changed. AA does a pretty good job of being transparent about these.
This is somewhat semantics. There is little difference between changing a standard award flight. Compared to canceling a saver award flight and booking the new one you want.
Old Oct 21, 2022, 10:29 pm

Originally Posted by Brandt
This is somewhat semantics. There is little difference between changing a standard award flight. Compared to canceling a saver award flight and booking the new one you want.