Trying to change FF program on ticket

Old Apr 25, 21, 12:45 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 107
Trying to change FF program on ticket

Hi,

I just made a reservation for a domestic trip on AA. It came with my AAadvantage program as my FF program. Is there a way to change it to my BA Executive club? I have tried a few things and failed so far. Thanks for any help, Tom
Charleston Tom is offline  
Old Apr 25, 21, 2:57 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 17,113
Originally Posted by Charleston Tom View Post
I just made a reservation for a domestic trip on AA. It came with my AAadvantage program as my FF program. Is there a way to change it to my BA Executive club? I have tried a few things and failed so far. Thanks for any help, Tom
Have you got a benefit from AA status on this reservation?
AY Finnair Manage Booking is used by many.

Link---->Change FFN / frequent flyer number on AA booking? (master thread)
From the wiki
"You cannot accrue partner airline miles with your partner frequent flyer number if you have already used your AAdvantage number to obtain AAdvantage program benefits such as First or Business Class upgrades, baggage fee waivers or complimentary access to Preferred/Main Cabin Extra seats. Additionally, you cannot redeem partner airline miles with your partner frequent flyer number and obtain AAdvantage program benefits such as priority boarding and access to preferred seats."
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old Apr 25, 21, 3:18 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: JFK/LGA
Programs: AA Plt Pro/5 MM, BA Blue Bayou, HH LT Diamond
Posts: 5,222
The ability to make this sort of change is a long standing pebble in the shoe of the OW alliance. IME about 50% of the time you will achieve your desired objective of getting the change made. If although you think you have made the change the flight still posts to the wrong account and you want to change it, you need to get it de-posted from the initial account and then posted to where you want it. A time consuming process involving lots of long calls with both airlines FF CS departments. With that said i have never been unable to get it done when i was willing to be persistent (eg when requalification or some other consideration was at stake.)
pauleeepaul is offline  
Old Apr 25, 21, 3:59 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 423
Send a message to twitter. Easy.
AndyKehn is online now  
Old Apr 25, 21, 5:57 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Midwest USA
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, WN A+/CP, UA SIL, DL Plat, Marriott TIT (LT), Hyatt EXPL, Hilton DIA
Posts: 1,784
Just call AA reservations or use Twitter. I do this all the time.
The long diatribe above is not really helpful
nachosdelux is offline  
Old Apr 25, 21, 6:39 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 1,068
And if push comes to shove, your last resort (which should work without a problem at all), are the agents at the airport.
DMPHL is offline  
Old Apr 26, 21, 6:19 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brighton. UK
Programs: BA Silver / VS /IHG Spire & Ambassador
Posts: 12,335
It's simplest not to book these sorts of trips where you want to credit elsehere when logged into your AA account but book as a guest where you can add the other programme from the start.

You can then add it to your AA account to manage the flight - seats etc whist retaining your BA number.

But as stated already AA won't let you do this if you have used a benefit of AA status.
River in Sight likes this.
UKtravelbear is offline  
Old Apr 26, 21, 2:49 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Programs: AA Plat, HH Gold, MMRRT Gold
Posts: 660
I would continue to call AA and HUCA until you get what you want. Try twitter. If twitter doesn't work, call AA again.

I also agree with what UKtravelbear noted about status benefits, and echo their sentiments.
GlobalMatt is offline  
Old Apr 26, 21, 4:05 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 107
Thanks for all the responses. I did not use my AA account for any upgrades etc. Will start calling this week.

Thanks again, Tom
Charleston Tom is offline  
Old Apr 26, 21, 4:59 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 17,113
Originally Posted by Charleston Tom View Post
Thanks for all the responses. I did not use my AA account for any upgrades etc. Will start calling this week.
Seat selection?
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old Apr 26, 21, 10:03 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Programs: AA EP
Posts: 2,065
wanting to use any BA elite status fir bags or lounge access?

Originally Posted by Charleston Tom View Post
Thanks for all the responses. I did not use my AA account for any upgrades etc. Will start calling this week.

Thanks again, Tom
AAExecPlatFlier is offline  
Old Apr 27, 21, 2:52 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: RDU/CHI
Programs: DL Plat, BA Silver, WN A-, AA LT Gold, IHG Spire, Marriott Plat
Posts: 12,266
Originally Posted by AAExecPlatFlier View Post
wanting to use any BA elite status fir bags or lounge access?
For revenue tickets, I just always use guest mode, and drop in the BA# and PreCheck KTN.

For award tickets using BA miles, I book on BA and then use Manage My Booking to get the AA locator. Then go to AA in guest mode to select seats and add the KTN.

For award tickets using AA miles where you want to use a better BA status, there is some sort of way before purchase to switch your program (buy for someone other than yourself who happens to have the same name and BA status), but I haven't tested it out since the BA nonstop awards are generally cheaper than the AA awards for the routes I fly.
ElmhurstNick is online now  
Old Apr 27, 21, 10:49 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK M&S Elite Plus, QRPC Platinum, BAEC Gold, PC Bolbol, All Silver, HH Silver, Bonvoy, BW Rewards
Posts: 9,578
A kind advice not to log in to you AAdvantage account or not associate your booking with your AAdvantage account when you are planning to use another FFP to get miles and benefits from.
Log out from the AA app each time and use it as a guest when viewing, modifying, checking-in for that booking. On your desktop, either use a private browser or clear cookies before booking and when viewing, modifying, checking-in for the reservation.

We have seen multiple cases in the past here in FlyerTalk that the miles could automatically go to AAdvantage despite the FFP on the boarding pass shows something else. This is the trick that some airlines use in order not to pay for the miles to another FFPs.
ISTFlyer is online now  
Old Apr 30, 21, 7:46 am
  #14  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT
Posts: 12,757
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
Have you got a benefit from AA status on this reservation?
AY Finnair Manage Booking is used by many.

Link---->Change FFN / frequent flyer number on AA booking? (master thread)
From the wiki
This does not work unless PNR was booked by a carrier using Amadeus (eg AY/BA/CX/QF). A reservation booked by AA would be entirely within Sabre.
seawolf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: