Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Award Booking Cancelled Online within 24 hours...

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 23, 2019, 9:45 pm
Original Poster

Hi

I booked and canceled within 24 hours but the points did not come back. I am pretty new to AA, my experience with Alaska Air is the points come right back.

I read from somebody online saying AA doesn’t refund points automatically? Can somebody with the correct information set the record straight?
Old Oct 23, 2019, 10:29 pm

AA doesn’t refund pointsmiles automatically. You have to call and pay a fee. However, you could have held the reservation for 5 days at no charge.
Old Oct 23, 2019, 11:22 pm
Original Poster

are you serious ? I have to pay a free to get points back from a “Free Cancellation”? Anyone confirm this?

Originally Posted by SeeBuyFly
AA doesn’t refund pointsmiles automatically. You have to call and pay a fee. However, you could have held the reservation for 5 days at no charge.
Old Oct 23, 2019, 11:44 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Originally Posted by castcore
are you serious ? I have to pay a free to get points back from a “Free Cancellation”? Anyone confirm this?
I believe that the redeposit fee for the miles used does apply. You can keep the award and use it for a new booking and potentially avoid the fee
Old Oct 23, 2019, 11:53 pm
Original Poster

I cancelled within 24 hours, if this was cash, I would get all my money back right? that makes no sense!

Originally Posted by Dave Noble
I believe that the redeposit fee for the miles used does apply. You can keep the award and use it for a new booking and potentially avoid the fee
Old Oct 24, 2019, 12:13 am

Programs: OW Emerald
Originally Posted by castcore
I cancelled within 24 hours, if this was cash, I would get all my money back right? that makes no sense!