Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

RTW / Round the World ticket - earning AAdvantage Miles

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 7, 2016, 2:11 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AAdvantage Platinum

Hi,

total newbie here, hope this is not a redundant Question.

I booked a super cheap ex-MPM oneworld-RTW ticket, and I get that with AA, the miles I do earn is dependant on the $ spent. on the partner airlines, its a function of the miles flown.
Now with the rtw ticket i have multiple choices with airlines i can fly on several legs. before introduction of the miles/$ spent clause, I would choose AA because that earned me the most miles. but with the new rules, if I want to maximise the miles i do get, is it possible that I could get more miles by flying partner airlines than flying with AA itself?
It'd help a lot how the miles i get are calculated if I fly AA since I only have A price on the whole ticket, not the $ I spent for the specific AA flight I do or do not choose. do they just divide the total amount I paid for the whole ticket by the segments and give me miles on that? if that is the case i think it would be far better if I fly partner airlines and not AA.

Hope my question isnt confusing. thx in advance

KR,
Old Sep 7, 2016, 2:15 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

What AA miles you will/can earn is hard to determine. You can tell us when the trip is complete.
On your route what segments are AA flight numbers?
What class of ticket [?ONE?]?

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...advantage-733/
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...ug-2016-a.html
Old Sep 7, 2016, 3:21 pm
Moderator, OneWorld

Programs: RAA RIP; AA ExEXP
Welcome to FT!