Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

AA website fail - Royal Tongan Airline Seat Assignment?

AA website fail - Royal Tongan Airline Seat Assignment?

Reply

Old Aug 11, 16, 11:47 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA Platinum - 1MM
Posts: 107
AA website fail - Royal Tongan Airline Seat Assignment?

So upon checking my seat assignments for an upcoming flight; I saw this:
"You are traveling on a carrier other than American Airlines or American Eagle; please call ROYAL TONGAN AIRLINES for your seat assignment"

Per Wikipedia: "Royal Tongan Airlines was the national airline of Tonga until liquidation in 2004. It was a government agency and operated interisland services and international routes"

Didn't realize that AA Eagle started outsourcing their YYZ to ORD flights to Royal Tongan Airlines - Gave me a good laugh.... I wonder if they recognize my Elite level?
Attached Images  
mrtrickdk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 16, 12:46 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MCO
Programs: AA, B6, DL, EK, EY, QR, SQ, UA, Amex Plat, RC/MR/SPG Plat, HHonors Gold
Posts: 6,029
Originally Posted by mrtrickdk View Post
So upon checking my seat assignments for an upcoming flight; I saw this:
"You are traveling on a carrier other than American Airlines or American Eagle; please call ROYAL TONGAN AIRLINES for your seat assignment"

Per Wikipedia: "Royal Tongan Airlines was the national airline of Tonga until liquidation in 2004. It was a government agency and operated interisland services and international routes"

Didn't realize that AA Eagle started outsourcing their YYZ to ORD flights to Royal Tongan Airlines - Gave me a good laugh.... I wonder if they recognize my Elite level?
That's a pretty impressive website fail. I'm curious how the website would even know such an airline existed.
cmd320 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 16, 12:53 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: RTM/AMS & CUR
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,007
You wouldn't happen to have a Westjet flight in there, would you?
Djokison is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 16, 12:58 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,309
Remember the old term: GIGO?

Someone must have typed the wrong airline code for this flight. American Eagle flights are operated by several different carriers see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Americ...tors_.26_Fleet . One of these is Piedmont Airlines whose code is PT. Not a far stretch to think someone typed RT by mistake.
RogerD408 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 16, 1:06 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,309
Originally Posted by cmd320 View Post
That's a pretty impressive website fail. I'm curious how the website would even know such an airline existed.
All airlines are assigned an IATA code. I hope AA is smart enough to single source such codes and not have yet another file that needs updating as things change.
RogerD408 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 16, 2:16 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: RTM/AMS & CUR
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,007
Remember that that note is not related to the flights visible in that window. It's to indicate that there are other flights in the reservation for which you can't select seats on AA.com.

My best guess:

OP has flights on Westjet Encore in the reservation (presumably between the DFW-YYZ and YYZ-DFW legs). These wouldn't show on the seat selection screen, but it would show that note instead. Westjet Encore's IATA code is WR and as it just so happens, WR was used by Royal Tongan Airlines prior to that. Whatever database AA is getting their airline names off of IATA codes hasn't been updated for WR and thus instead of Westjet (Encore) it shows Royal Tongan Airlines instead.
Djokison is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 16, 4:33 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Programs: AA Platinum - 1MM
Posts: 107
Originally Posted by Djokison View Post
You wouldn't happen to have a Westjet flight in there, would you?
Nailed it - I have a WestJet flight in there.
Still gave me a good laugh though. And who knows, perhaps Royal Tongan Airlines would have given me more of a royal treatment than WestJet will
mrtrickdk is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread