Wiki Posts
Search

Avoid $20 fee for multi-city award travel

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2, 2008, 12:48 am
Original Poster

Smile Avoid $20 fee for multi-city award travel

Hello,
I want to book award travel for my family of 4. I've called and we can do so if we use anytime awards (50,000 each).

Our desired route is
SFO-JFK
IAD-SJC

The agent told me I can book this multi-city trip at 50,000 miles/each but that I would have to pay a $7.50 ticketing (?) fee plus a $20 live agent fee (or something like that, not sure if I got those fee descriptors correct)... but he told me that I could avoid the $20 fee (for a total of $80) if I booked online.

Booking award travel for multi-city doesn't exist, but he said I should book SFO-JFK rt and call back for a route change.

Because I have never done this before... how does this exactly work? Do I go ahead and confirm the usage of my 200,000 miles? And will I not suffer any add'l fees for the route change - even if it's multi-city? Is this because there's no change fees for Anytime Awards? I am taking any risks here and may this not work out?

I just don't want to screw this up.

Thanks in advance for your time!
Old Jul 2, 2008, 1:26 am

This is an open jaw award, you have to call to book and pay a $20 per ticket fee, no way around that
Old Jul 2, 2008, 5:01 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP LT GLD 1MM, BA GLD, NH/UA*G, Hyatt Dia, Marr Tit LT PLT, IHG Spire,HH Dia, MGM NOIR,Hertz PC
AA fees are a disgusting scam and it get's worse and worse

But on the other hand, getting a few hundred K of cheap AA miles and redeeming them for OW premium tickets let meswallow the few bucks
Old Jul 2, 2008, 5:40 am

Programs: AA Plat 2MM, OW Sapphire, QF Bronze, Marriott Silver, Starwood Gold; National Emerald